THE BEGINNING

I told you that I want to use this blog to share my writing experience. Some of you probably noticed that I figured out how to change the tag line that comes with this blog. Now it reads: ‘Future bestselling author shares his journey.’ I don’t mean to infer that all of my books will be bestsellers… but, I know what stories God has given me to write. I’m confident that something, sometime will become a bestseller (besides, I believe in setting my goals high).

I firmly believe that each life is a unique journey that each, individual person is assigned to live as only they can (whenever somebody tries to live any other way they usually end up miserable). This is the story of my journey through this life as ‘Wade Webster’. I also believe that each story is best told chronologically, so, I will start mine at the beginning (I hope I haven’t lost anybody, yet).

I asked my Mom once why she named me Wade. I mean the other six kids that she had have fairly common names. She said that the only reason she could think of is that it probably came as close to ‘wait’ as they could come up with. Then she explained that I was due in late February (hopefully you all remember that my birthday is three full weeks into March). That got me to thinking that there is one of three reasons why I did that: 1) I knew when I had it good… I mean all my meals were provided on time, no diaper rash, and no sibling rivalries; 2) I was afraid of the unknown… the familiar of the womb was so certain, what really was out in the big, bad world; 3) (this one stands more the test of time as any of them) I’ve never been in a hurry to do anything… it drives my wife, Barb, crazy. I mean why else would it take until I’m 47 years old to determine that God wants me to write for a living?

I’ve come to realize another thing: if they call babies born before their due date ‘premies’, then I must be a ‘post-me’. Right? I mean think about it a minute, it kinda makes sense. You would think that that would make me fit into this ‘post-modern’ world we supposedly live in (that term is still a mystery to me… I thought the basic definition of modern has to do with ‘what is now’. How do you get past the now and still live in the present?) Now I’m meandering! (look it up… it fits)

I can remember telling my friends in high school that I never wanted to be considered ‘normal’. That’s why I can so easily be myself… I’m not trying to please everybody else by trying to fit into their mold. It also makes being a born-again Christian a lot easier with that attitude (I live my life for an audience of ONE… Jesus Christ. Political correctness isn’t an issue). I can’t recall the first time I first gave Him Lordship of my life. But, I do remember doing it several times… I just kept wanting this free gift of eternal life that was being offered, even though I already had it (it’s kinda like being offered a new car repeatedly. You want it each time it’s offered, even though they keep giving you the same new car. You can’t help but want it again the next time somebody offers it to you).

For those of you wondering… I was born right smack dab in the middle of the SEVEN Webster children (I guess my parents took those ‘Be fruitful and multiply’ verses to heart). I was the runt of the litter. I was slightly closer in age to the three ‘big kids’, but I was closer in size to the three ‘little kids’ (you see, I started my split personality at an early age as a survival mechanism). 

Growing up on the edge of nowhere had its advantages (our nearest neighbor was over a quarter a mile to the East, you’d have to go a mile or more in any other direction to find anybody). I would enjoy going for a walk by myself frequently, I developed a regular route that took about an hour to complete… I usually didn’t see another person on the entire trip. I say that I walked alone, but, actually, I never was really alone. You see I would take advantage of these times of solitude to talk, one on one, with Jesus (that’s an advantage I had over my unsaved friends… my imaginary friend is actually real).

Sanity was held onto during those walks, as was the discipline of a personal quiet time with my Savior. But, I’ll save any more revelations for my next blog.

I’ll see you later. Wade Webster

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Youth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

