MY MOM

I’m sure glad my parents didn’t practice birth control, or follow the lie that abortions are a good thing, when they got married… otherwise I might not be here writing this blog right now.

Before I begin my Mother’s Day celebration here I need to break in with some exciting writer’s news. I’M PUBLISHED!! (Sorry, I got a little carried away there.) It isn’t a book deal at this point, just a magazine article, but it’s where most writers get their start. I have a piece that uses Mark chapter 9 to show how people can make a difference by being foster parents (May is National Foster Parenting Month… of course you already knew that).

Dallas Christian Family Magazine is the place you could have found this article if you were in Dallas in May, 2011. Otherwise you can access it from their website http://www.dfwchristianfamily.com/family/inviteGodIn_may-11.php it’s titled: “Invite God Into Your Home”.

OK… back to bragging about my Mommy. I actually sent 3 articles to the magazine for them to choose from, since they didn’t take the one I wrote about my Mom I am free to use it here (I had to give them the rights to whatever they publish). Here’s the piece I submitted to honor my Mom on this special time of the year that is set aside for such babbling.

A MOM AFTER GOD’S OUR HEART

1 Samuel 16:7b “The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” NIV

“What does this verse about the search for the second king of Israel have to do with Mother’s Day?” You ask. Well, from my experience, and the other 6 people who began our lives in her womb, it has everything to do with this holiday.

Joan Webster knew early on that she was not college material (she readily admits that many of her teachers gave her a D just to move her on to the next grade). If she were to enter a singing contest  Mr. Cowell would be in the heights of his despicable glory tearing her efforts apart. Pictures from her past reveal a very attractive young woman, but age and an unfortunate accident have lessened those features to most outsiders.

Being the oldest of 6 kids, she knew she was good at one thing… taking care of children. So, she took all of the Home Economics classes that she could get (for those of you in the younger generation, schools used to actually teach people how to cook and run a household… back when that was considered normal and useful).

Having 7 children in the span of 9 years meant that she would spend the bulk of her first decade of her married life, to her childhood sweetheart, pregnant. The farming life in rural Michigan was brutally hard on the entire family, but the faith that she passed down to us kids kept us working together to overcome all obstacles.

She still felt the need to reach out to even more children than the ones she was given by God. So she became involved with Child Evangelism’s Good News Clubs to teach God’s Word to as many people as she possibly could. Only God knows just how many souls will be in Heaven someday because of the outreach there and the many Sunday School classes she taught.

None of her children would go on to complete a Bachelor’s Degree from any school of higher education (I came the closest with 2 Associate Degrees, my youngest sister and I each got one from Grace Bible College in Wyoming, Michigan). Two of Joan’s grandchildren are currently attending GBC.

We’re not sure if our Dad is waiting for us in Heaven, or not. But, all 7 of us siblings are looking forward to someday worshipping at Jesus’ feet with Mom. And for that I’m sure she’ll be greeted with a hearty ‘Well done, good and faithful servant!’ when her time to be called home comes.

Well, what do y’all think? Would you have published this article in your magazine? In case you can’t tell, I’m crazy about my Mom (sometimes I’m accused of being crazy… this time I have good cause). I think my Mom is the best!

I talked to her a couple of weeks ago on her birthday. She confessed that she was thinking about giving up teaching Sunday School… until a girl stayed after a class to ask a question that she wasn’t comfortable asking her parents. I told Mom that was God’s way of telling her He isn’t finished with her there, yet. She agreed… she’s staying with teaching until further notice.

I know there are a lot of people who don’t have such a strong Christian heritage to build on. Maybe you’re not even on speaking terms with your Mom. There’s still something you can do after you read this post to honor your our mother. Send her a thank you note. Even if it just says ‘Thank you for giving me life”. There are millions of women who didn’t do that for their babies. Who knows, maybe it will be the first brick removed from the wall that separates the two of you right now. I pray that it is.

I’ll see you later. Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Ancestry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MY MOM

  1. Lora Pedersen says:

    That was great what you wrote about mom. You are like our own “JohnBoy” in the Webster family. I find your writing very endearing. I love your persepctive of our family. Thanks for writing. Keep it up! Lora

    • Thanks Lora. I’m just doing what God is telling me to do, I guess that’s why I’m enjoying it so much. Make sure you give Mom a big hug from me tomorrow. Happy Mother’s Day! Wade

Let me know what you think.

