A NEW PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

“I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands; one nation, under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.” I didn’t have to look that up. I have it memorized– as they say, by heart. Which means that that is where it is kept, not in the brain cells.

Allegiance… how many people truly understand the full meaning of that word anymore? I think it has as it’s core the word ally… to come along side in battle. Loyalty is another prime value of this word… staying true to one’s beliefs and virtues. It used to be followed by people when they took on employment, they stayed with that company until they retired. Now, neither party is sure how long the other will last.

There’s a movement in the world today that frightens me. The way so many are embracing total anarchy to topple dictators. I understand the desire to see an end to oppressive regimes that hold their people in check by extreme measures (as Chuck Colson was known to say ‘Power corrupts; absolute power corrupts, absolutely.’). But, the Bible states that it is God who sets up rulers and brings them down (Daniel 2:21). I’m uncomfortable with the precedent that is being established by this exercise of rioting as a means to this goal.

I’m also not convinced that democracy will work in all parts of the world. The main reason it works here is the Judeo-Christian values that it is established on. I know that isn’t being taught in schools today, but we can’t hide the truth. The value we place on authority is grounded in the belief of a sovereign God we must someday answer to. Pardon the pun, but this a foreign concept to many people in the world. Hate is the leading passion of far too many inhabitants of this planet.

This is going to be a shock to many reading this post, but I’m actually looking forward to a dictatorship in my future. That’s right, I’m not desiring a vote to see who will lead us for a time. I yearn for the time when Jesus Christ will finally rule on His rightful throne for eternity. Can’t you picture this all-powerful, totally benevolent, all-wise King of kings ruling in His appointed place at the final Kingdom?

I’ve always had a problem with our nation’s pledge, now hear me out, I am going someplace with this point. Why do we open it with devotion to a piece of fabric? What’s so special about cotton placed in a set pattern that should drive my passion? Of course I realize it’s the second line of the pledge that states the real meaning of patriotism; “…the republic for which it stands.” Wouldn’t it be better to maintain devotion to a living, breathing entity that never ends?

I want to propose a new pledge of allegiance for Christians to recite; one that places our devotion on a live person, Jesus Christ. I’ll break it down into its parts with scripture to back up each line. Since I know it’s dangerous to take passages out of context I’m going to give a larger section that you can read to make sure I haven’t done this. I will only give the relevent section as space provides in this blog. I’m using the New International Version of the Bible for this.

“I pledge allegiance to Jesus Christ” Revelation 1:4-18 “…Jesus Christ, who is the faithful witness, the firstborn from the dead, and the ruler of the kings of the earth.”

“the second Person of the Trinity,” Matthew 28:16-20 “…baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.”

“and to His Kingdom” John 3:1-36 “I tell you the truth, no one can see the kingdom of God unless he is born again.”

“eternally established;” Daniel 7:1-28 “His kingdom will be an everlasting kingdom, and all rulers will worship and obey him.”

“one people,” Galatians 3:26-29 “There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor free, male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”

“all-powerful,” Colossians 2:6-23 “for in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and you have been given the fullness of Christ, who is the head over every power and authority.”

“unconquerable,” Romans 8:28-39 “No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loves us.”

“with forgiveness” 1 John 2:1-17 “I write to you dear children, because your sins have been forgiven on account of his name.”

“and righteousness” Romans 3:21-26 “This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe.”

“for all.” Romans 10:10-13 “…the same Lord is Lord of all and richly blesses all who call on him, for, ‘Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.'”

Now I’ll put it together so you can experience the whole pledge for Christians:

“I pledge allegiance to Jesus Christ, the second person of the Trinity; and to His Kingdom, eternally established; one people, all-powerful, unconquerable; with forgiveness and righteousness for all.”

So, what do you think? Are you with me on this? I know there are other verses I could have used for some of my points, and some of these could back up multiple points. This is in no way an exhaustive compilation, just a sampling of ideas. If you aren’t comfortable with this pledge I challenge you to take the time to read the entire Bible sections for each point. I’m convinced it will be more real to you if you do; especially if you ask the Holy Spirit to open your eyes to the truth of the Bible as you read it. The version of the Bible you read isn’t that important, they basically say the same thing. What is important is that you read it.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A NEW PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

  1. MG says:

    Hi Wade-
    I loved your new Christian pledge of allegiance! I think, as a Christian it is much better. And like you say, we are waiting for the real “King of Kings and Lord of Lords” to reign over us! Of course, they would only use it in a Christian school, but it is the right pledge. I would love to see children everywhere learn this version! Someday every knee will bow…. Keep up the faith-inspiried ponderings!

    • Thanks MG.
      I pray that it would make it into mainstream schools, too. But, of course the tide is not in our favor there. We must keep the faith that we are on the winning team in the end. Keep striving for the Lord! Wade

  2. mike webster says:

    i like the way you put this. i pledge allegance to jesus christ for ever and ever i enjoyed reading this

    • Wade Webster says:

      Thanks Mike
      When you think about eternity, and the fact that everybody will live that long, doesn’t it make sense to declare our devotion to the unconquerable Victor NOW? Makes sense to me!

Let me know what you think.

