MY DREAMS

Dreams… when you read that word one of two things come to mind: 1) I could extol my hopes for the future, or 2) I can admit to some of my unconscious mind activity while I sleep. I’m going to take the second option.

God repeatedly used dreams to communicate to His children in the Bible. Think of Joseph in the book of Genesis; or the other Joseph– Jesus’ stepfather in the New Testament. Peter received an important announcement in Acts concerning the Gentiles receiving God’s gift of salvation in a dream. Remember how Paul was told to go to Macedonia after several doors were closed to him by the Holy Spirit?

Well, God still speaks in dreams today. It’s not the primary way He choses to communicate to us, that would be reading the Bible; nor is it the most reliable way, it is much too easy to misinterpret something that our crazy subconscious cooks up.

I know of one man who got an unmistakable call to go to seminary by a divine dream. I have received a few dreams that I always knew came from God, I just never quite knew what to do with them… until recently. I’m thinking of two in particular that I had in my youth.

I was about 10 years old when I dreamed I was behind the barn that we built to store the hay. I was standing between the barn and the old apple orchard where we pastured the calves. Before I know it I’m hovering over the trees briefly. In a separate dream a short time later I’m at the same spot and my Mom is standing nearby… I fly in the air, again, while she watches. My take away from those dreams at that time was… when Jesus tells me it’s time for me to fly I’ll be able to fly. There was no doubt in my mind. I now feel that my writing, at this stage in my life, is Jesus telling me it’s time to fly.

In my adult years I’ve had a couple of crucifixion dreams (yeah, that’s pretty scary and special). In the first one I’m a young Roman soldier. My responsibility is to place the nails into the hands and feet of those being executed. I’ve been practicing on cadavers (this is my first live experience at this task). As they’re bringing the victims to me one of the soldiers says, “This one should be an easy first one for you. He’s not putting up any fight at all.”

I don’t know who this guy is, all I know is that the only part of his body that isn’t bloody is his arms. They lay him on the ground across the cross beam. I put my knee on the palm of his hand before I set the nail carefully between the two bones in his arm (I know we consider this the wrist, but back then it was considered a part of the hand). I’m also careful to avoid the main artery so he doesn’t bleed to death, that would make the execution too quick. As I come down hard with the hammer, so the nail is driven completely through the flesh in one action, the body convulses from the pain. The shock of that scene woke me from my real-life sleep. As you can tell, I never forgot that dream. It was even difficult for me to re-live that experience as I typed it now. That’s the power of a dream.

The Human mind is an incredible creation. They’ll never invent a computer that can come close to copying it. But, it can also be led astray too easily. Case in point– the recent end-times prediction. How much money was spent on advertising something that nobody had any control over? I just read an article about how many of the relief agencies are pulling out of Haiti, even though there is very little being done to fix the catastrophe. I just wish somebody could inspire people to send that much money to the very hurting souls in that part of the world.

My other vivid crucifixion dream was almost like watching a play. I was standing back seeing it all unfold. In my mind I knew what I was witnessing, and I knew I could do nothing to stop it. I was trying to think in my current mind what Jesus said on the cross so I could anticipate what was going to happen. “Let’s see… ‘Tetelesti (it is finished)…’ No, that comes at the end.” Suddenly, Jesus made direct eye contact with me and said, “Take care of my mother.” The importance of that statement woke me up. This was near the time of my father-in-law’s death (I don’t remember if it was right before, or after the lingering effects of COPD ended his life), so I knew immediately the message that I was being sent. Not that I needed this to know Mom was going to need our help, I was already planning on doing all I could to be there for her.

Of course I’ve had the basic dreams of trying to run away from some danger only to find that my legs won’t work right. I’ve also had dreams of running in a long distance race and my legs work quite well. I’ve had other dreams I wish I could forget.

I had one dream a couple of years ago that I had time to think about and it has turned into a book about the reporter who covers the battle of Armageddon and the second coming of Christ. That’s going to be quite the book, as soon as I get the time to write it.

Like I mentioned earlier, God doesn’t use dreams as His primary means of communicating to people. So, don’t feel bad if you can’t remember any of yours. Spend time in the Bible, that’s where a real relationship with your creator will be developed.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Guidance, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

