DRIVING LESSONS (part 4)

Ever notice smoke coming out of some vehicle’s tailpipes; especially those that race down the expressway, always in a hurry? Every time I see that the first thought that goes through my mind is ‘there’s someone who doesn’t change their oil on a regular basis.’

Vehicle maintenance is key to having a well running ride for a long period of time. “So, what’s that got to do with me?” You wonder. I’m glad you asked. As christians we are the ‘vehicle’ that God’s Holy Spirit rides around in (1 Cor. 6:19-20). So, if you wouldn’t want to be seen in an run-down ride, what do you think God feels like?

I know that some of you seem to have gotten the short end of the deal when it comes to receiving a ‘sports-car’ physique, but that doesn’t exempt you from doing the best you can to maintain the body you have been given. As some of you will recall, I boasted at being able to do 50 full push-ups, and 50 sit-ups on my 50th birthday in my very first blog post. That qualifies me as a ‘firm believer’ (pun intended) in pushing others to take exceptional care of their own bodies.

Having a sedentary job doesn’t disqualify you from your duty to be the best you can be in your service to God by taking the best course of action in your own maintenance. For most people the simple solution boils down to a simple math equation: if you consume more calories than you burn you will gain weight, if you burn more calories than you consume you will lose weight. Got it? Good, now go do it.

Please don’t go out and try to over do it right off the bat. Start slowly and build on what you can do over time. You will be amazed at how much more energy you have to do everyday things once you get closer to being where you are meant to be in God’s design for you. Most of you will never get to the same level that I can do now. That’s OK, just do the best you can. God will be pleased by how much more useful you will be for His service. 

Another driving lesson that carries over to real life is this: if everybody obeys the laws that are in place then there will be many fewer accidents in life. I don’t even have to check the statistics to know that a vast majority of accidents are caused by somebody driving too fast, or running a red light, or not yielding the right-of-way. One disadvantage to living in a culture ruled by democratic guidelines is that we get the notion that if we get a majority to agree with us on something then that makes it acceptable for all.

One of the reasons God chose to leave His laws in a book is because the words don’t change, as opposed to having word of mouth relaying His plan for us. How many of us would like to save money by putting water in our engine compartment instead of oil? Sounds pretty far-fetched, doesn’t it? Everybody knows you put oil in an engine. How do we know that? The manufacturer tells us in the owner’s manual exactly what type of oil works best for their particular requirements.

God is the ‘manufacturer’ of people (the creator of everything we see about us, actually). He gave us His ‘owner’s manual’ in the form of the Bible to show us what specifically is required of us in order for us to lead healthy, productive lives.

The reason many people claim to be atheists is because they don’t want to run their life by anybody’s standard. If you don’t have a God to answer to then you don’t have any rules to follow, everything is fair game. “I can do whatever I want” becomes their mantra. Their choice to live without God will be honored by the very creator Who made them when their time on Earth is through. They will spend eternity apart from this God that they are rejecting in order to follow their selfish desires. 

Sharing the road is a practice I would like to see come into vogue in my lifetime. We all have a destination we’re traveling to. Why do we have to compete for the pavement we use in order to get there? I don’t even try to keep track of how many people maintain an unsafe following distance with the vehicle in front of them just so somebody else doesn’t cut into that slot. They tried to teach us in kindergarten the importance of sharing. Apparently, many kids never caught on to the importance of that logic. I try to keep a safe distance in front of me. Do others take advantage of that? Sure, but, I’ve always got where I’m gettin to in spite of them (just trying to throw in a little Texan, y’all).

When I lived in Michigan they didn’t require a front license plate. So I got one theat read “God is my Co-pilot”. I thought that was a pretty good message, until I saw a bumper sticker that read, “If God is your co-pilot then you’re in the wrong seat”. I quickly saw the wisdom in that message and removed my front plate. How about you? Which seat are you driving in? It’s been my experience that God knows best where we’re supposed to go. To learn where He wants you to go dig into His Word.

Psalm 37:4 says to “delight yourself in the LORD and He will give you the desires of your heart.” Notice that it doesn’t say that He will give you all your heart desires, but the desires of your heart. How do you delight yourself in the LORD? The same way you delighted yourself in your spouse before you got married… you spend close time getting to know them on an intimate level. My lifetime of delighting in Jesus has led me to writing for Him. That desire didn’t exist in me before my sincere prayer of dedication I mentioned in a previous post.

Live your life for Him. He only wants what’s best for you.

I’ll see you later.  Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Guidance, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

