COMMUNICATION

Some of you are probably thinking; “Good. We’re finally off the ‘Driving Lessons’ theme.” You are the ones who probably don’t use your turn signals before you turn into a driveway or side street.

I’ve lost track of the number of times I’m sitting at the end of a driveway or side street waiting to make a right hand turn; all I’m waiting on is this car coming toward me from my left, all of a sudden they turn into a driveway just before they get to me. I mean, I could have completed my turn and been on my way by now if I had known they weren’t going to go past me. Please, let others know your intentions; especially, if it will help them out.

For those of you who don’t know… that lever on the left hand side of your steering column, just behind your steering wheel, is designed to operate your turn signals. It used to be the only function of that little lever; now, you can turn your lights on and off, spray your windshield, and probably use it as a speaker phone. Some of you hang your drive-thru meal bag off of it while you drive (I can tell because your left turn signal is stuck on while you’re doing it). But, seriously, when you push that lever up it makes the little lights on the right-hand side of your car blink… thus letting others know that you are planning on turning right soon. When you push that lever down it does the same thing on the left-hand side of your car.

“So, what’s the big deal?” Some of you are asking, “I’m going to make my turn anyway. Why do other drivers need to know what I’m going to do?” Because, if they see that blinking light on the car in front of them they know that you need to slow down to complete your turn, and they will then slow down to avoid making contact with the back of your car. Otherwise, if you fail to make that little light on the corner of your car blink, they won’t get distracted from their cell phone in time to slow down, then you will be exchanging insurance information with them in your immediate future.

“So, what does this have to do with the rest of my life?” I’m glad you asked. EVERYTHING! Trust is vital in all relationships, especially in a marriage. It takes a lifetime to build it, and only one moment to tear it apart; and then another lifetime to rebuild it. This is something I’m in the process of doing in my own life. It’s not a good place to be at. Tell those closest to you what you are planning on doing, if you have to deviate from that then let them know why as soon as you can. Keep your partner informed, that’s what keeps trust strong.

Another important place to stay in communication in as an accountability group, especially for men. Women tend to naturally gravitate to telling other women their secrets, men tend to keep things a lot closer to the vest. The practice of keeping secrets is a slippery slope my friend. One closely held conduct… leads to the next questionable event left untold… and the next secret kept hidden. Before you know it you have a secret life that you never intended on living, and a wreck to clean up that never should have been. Find some trusted christian men that you can confide in together. Keep your integrity intact. The world will thank you for it by not being embarrassed, again.

Passing on your christian faith is another vitally important place to keep the communication lines open. Each person needs to make a personal decision to give control of their life over to God through Jesus Christ. Too many think that just because they grew up in a family that went to church every Sunday they will go to Heaven when they die. Church attendance, or any other ritual, is not what God requires for entrance into His eternal presence. Personal faith in Jesus’ death and resurrection is the only key that will open that door.

Does that mean that you have to personally lead your children to faith in Christ to be a successful parent? No. But, you should be taking them to church to come in contact with the life-saving message so they can make that personal decision when the Holy Spirit so leads them. Notice that I said that you should be taking them to church, and Sunday School if that is available, don’t just send them. Let your children see the first-hand importance of living a life devoted to God from you (maybe that is where the turning point was for you… When did you stop making the trip to church a priority?) God does allow U-turns, pray for forgiveness and do the right thing, the eternal dividends will be worth it.

Remember the Hebrews who entered the Promised land (after the generation that wished for the comforts of their former life had died out)? How well did they fare once they followed God’s leading to get them where He wanted them? Joshua 24:31 tells us: “Israel served the LORD throughout the lifetime of Joshua and of the elders who outlived him and who had experienced everything the LORD had done for Israel.” This verse is repeated in Judges 2:7. Verse 10 introduces us to the following generation “who knew neither the LORD nor what He had done for Israel.” Verse 11 gives us the consequence of this failure to pass on the personal possession of God. “Then the Israelites did evil in the eyes of the LORD and served the Baals.” The rest of the book of Judges tells of a downward spiral of each succeeding generation.

I heard this week that a revival is needed each third generation: the first generation has a conviction, the second generation holds a belief, the third generation maintains an idea. Please pray with me that a revival begins SOON!

I’ll see you later.  Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

