DRIVING LESSONS REVIEW

I  think a little review is in order before we continue on down this road (I told you we need to occasionally use our mirrors from time to time).

But, before we do I want to share some more writing news. I have TWO articles published in the September, 2011 edition of the Dallas Christian Family Magazine. Free copies can be picked up at local christian bookstores in and around Dallas. Otherwise, you can go on their web-zine at dfwchristianfamily.com to read them.

On a more personal note, my smashed right index finger is back to about 90%. I can now use it to type again. If you noticed any letters missing from the last couple of blogs I’ll blame it on being able to type with only nine fingers. 

Now, taking a glance in our mirror before we move forward, remember to share your intentions with those closest to you. Tell your loved ones your plans and dreams; and, just as importantly, listen to their plans and dreams. Hopefully you can come up with a course that keeps you moving in the same direction. Don’t dwell on the past for long unless its to concentrate on changing something that needs to be fixed.

There are two important control knobs on the dashboard of a semi tractor (I still have trouble calling them tractors, my farming background insists that a tractor is green and the back tires are quite a bit larger than the front ones, but that’s what the truck is refered to): a yellow knob sets the tractor brakes, a red one sets the trailer brakes. It’s rather embarrassing when you forget to release either of these two controls and you try to drive away from where you’re at. In order for a relationship to move forward both parties need to be willing to make a move in the forward direction; otherwise, you’re going nowhere, fast.

We all have areas in our life that are places that need correction, but we are too close to the problem to see the concern. Other people can offer suggestions to correcting these blind spots, but then its up to us to do what needs to be done to better ourself. Focus on the Bible as your source of correct guidelines to live by.

Share the road whenever possible. Remember, we’re all traveling this road of life together. Give those around you a bit of grace to help them on their way. Sometimes they’ll selfishly take advantage of your generosity, but, wouldn’t you rather be the one known for helping another along their way, rather than the one who selfishly took advantage of another’s burden? WWJD (What would Jesus want you to do?)

When starting out on a new project start out slowly, if you attempt to get up to speed too quickly you’ll only stall out. The slower first gears need to be utilized in order to get up to full speed. Short-cutting this process will lead to frustration, and possibly failure. That’s just the way it is, have the patience to go with the natural flow of progression, because once you’re up to full speed it will take a lot of effort to stop. But, that’s not what you want to do anyway!

Frustrations arise when we try to control what we can’t control. The actions of other drivers is totally out of my hands. My goal is to safely get where I’m going. Discouragement is best overcome by focusing on the true purpose of our pursuit, sometimes its best to walk away and give it some time to work itself out. Don’t give up, but, don’t get side-tracked, either.

Do your best to maintain the Holy Spirit’s vehicle, your body. The better you can function, the better God can use you to do His purpose through you. I know we all have various degrees of limits, but the more energy you have to give to a project, the better you will be able to pull it off.

Obey the laws that are in place. It’s not up to you to re-establish the speed limit, that speed is set up by those in authority. Your place is just to live within those laws to avoid the consequences. God’s laws are given to us in the Bible, His Word. No matter what society says, we can best live our lives by living within the parameters He established from the beginning of our creation. True happiness is found by developing a right relationship with our Creator; and that is only accomplished through giving control of our lives to the One Who died a death we deserved so we can live a life only He can give. Just remember, Jesus doesn’t give like the world gives(John 14:27); that means that He will NEVER take His gift back, so we can have His life-giving gift for all of eternity.

Detours are inevitable, it’s just another thing we can’t control. Learn the lessons that life’s detours throw at you. God plans those to show you something that you couldn’t learn any other way. Whether its to break you out of a comfort zone that needs to be discarded to get you to move in a new direction; or to shake you from some old habits that are holding you back, trust God to guide your life. I can only speak from my own personal experience, but, I’ve learned that God can be trusted in all aspects of life. My Creator knows what’s best for me. I don’t need to understand what’s happening to me, but I know that He does; and it will all work together to make me more like the Jesus I gave control of my life to (my ultimate goal… please make it your’s, too). 

One last word of advice about driving. The next time you come to a fork in the road… by all means, stop and pick it up. You never know but that the flat tire you save might be your own.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Guidance, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DRIVING LESSONS REVIEW

  1. What a great post my brother! You have an incredible gift. Keep writing (like you have a choice!) Looking forward to our next breakfast. Enjoy your day my friend!

Let me know what you think.

