FREIGHT

“What am I taking, today?” That’s the second question I ask when I get to work. This was especially important when I delivered shingles. I wanted to keep the paying customer happy by taking them the correct color shingle. I needed to keep my bosses happy by not taking a better shingle than what was paid for (you never realized how much pressure is put on truck drivers, did you?).

Loading the freight in a manner that allows for efficient deliveries is yet another thing to keep in mind. Today, my trailers are usually loaded for me so I’m at the mercy of however it got loaded as to how well I can make all my stops. Often I can get the job done rather well; sometimes I have to go back to a previous stop to get at the balance of their order. Yeah, that’s a bit embarrassing.

The kind of freight varies by the company I drive for. I’ve delivered everything from flowers to phone books; shingles to steel coils; decorated Christmas trees to a military Humvee to the Yuma Proving Grounds; and, yes, I’ve even delivered the kitchen sink!

The type of truck/trailer or tractor/trailer involved also changes by the application. If it’s a flatbed truck or trailer then I need to strap, or chain, the freight down so it stays with me to  the delivery site. Vans can be more precarious because the freight can shift inside the trailer if I drive too recklessly.

Writing carries its own type of freight. Everything I write carries a message. The audience of that message dictates the style of message being transmitted at that time. A children’s book will use simple words and ideas; a seminary doctrinal paper will use slightly bigger words and a whole heap of theological jargon and ideas. Fiction is looser with facts, generally, than a research paper for a medical journal. Poetry tells a story using short lines of prose while a novel needs decent dialogue and action that is realistic.

When I write an article for the Dallas Christian Family Magazine I need to keep in mind the readers who are drawn to that, so I try to give advice that will aid parents; but, sometimes it’s a subject that any Christian will benefit from. I’m freer with this blog to say whatever I want to put out there. That’s the danger with these things, some accountability is a good thing; if my magazine submission is way off base the editor will reject it, here, I’m on my own.

Everybody is carrying freight around, they just don’t realize it. Jesus calls it ‘treasure’ in the Sermon on the Mount at Matthew 6:19-21. He warns His listeners not to store up our treasures on earth, but in Heaven. Why? Because, as we all know, you can’t take it with you! How many people do you know who spent their entire lives saving for their retirement just to see it all disappear when the stock market crashed a few years ago? When I worked at the cemetery I never saw a hearse with a trailer hitch on the back of it. Never!

Jesus promised us that He’s preparing enough dwelling places for us that we don’t need to worry about where we’ll live when we get to Heaven in John 14. Paul tells us in Romans 13:14 that we should clothe ourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, he repeats this theme in Galatians 3:27. So why do we put so much effort into these moth-eaten, rusty, dusty treasures?

In my blog post entitled THE PRAYER I shared that my desire that led up to my writing was summed up in: “God, I want to give you the reputation of being a party animal;” after it was pointed out that He is set off in a spirit of joyous celebration every time a person turns their life over to Jesus Christ. So, the ultimate freight that I want to deliver in everything I write is the absolutely free gift of salvation that Jesus made possible by His death and resurrection. If I ever stray from that objective then God’s writing gift to me will be a waste; and I never want to see that happen.

Writing is only one method of delivering that freight, but it’s not often the most effective. Living out that lifestyle in front of seekers is by far the best means of taking that message to people. When others see something different in you that they wish they had then you will be a beacon in a dark world. That will make God happy, too.

God frequently delivers my writing assignments to me in the middle of the night. That’s what happened with my post called A NEW PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE back in July. That’s the only time I got up and wrote it down right then so I didn’t miss any of it. I told myself that if I couldn’t find any scripture to back up a line in it then I would change that line. It stayed intact. That pledge may not catch on until after the rapture, but, I’m fine with that. I know it’s my job to write it down, God will use it in His timetable.

This blog, itself, is an assignment God gave me to write. Sometimes I can count on one hand the number of people who read it in a week’s time. Other times I can take off my socks and I run out of digits to count them all. But, I’ll keep putting it out there just because God has a plan for all of it. I can see the possibility of a memoir from the beginning posts after I write a few best-sellers;).

The important thing is to keep the main thing the main thing. Jesus’ gift of salvation is my freight to deliver. My life verse is John 3:30: “Jesus must increase, I must decrease.”

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Life Lessons, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

