DESTINATION

It’s a question we all have to ask from time to time. When you make a living delivering stuff you find yourself asking it a lot. “Where am I going?”

Business leaders need to set a course they feel is best for their company: store owners need to decide what product they want to carry and what brand of that product for their store; factory owners need to decide what products to make, discontinue, or change; college leaders need to decide what courses to carry, or drop, depending on various factors. You see, we all have to ask: “Where am I going?”

Parents even set a destination for their family (whether they think about it, or not). If both parents work then they hand over the education of their children to someone other than themselves, they do their best to choose wisely, but it’s still left to someone else to show life’s lessons while little lives are so malleable. Sometimes its best to refuse a promotion if it means spending more time away from your charges at a particularly vulnerable time in their life. Just look at how many fine people grew up in homes that were too crowded for the size family that was in it, making do with what you already have is often the best thing to do if it means you can influence your children more.

Once I know what I’m driving, and I’m assured that it will get me through the day; and, then, what I’m taking, I need to know where I need to take it. When I delivered shingles we found it much easier to take the shingles to the house rather than bringing the house to our warehouse to have the shingles installed. It’s much the same way with the gospel message of Jesus that we Christians carry. Too many people just want to build a building and hold weekly meetings. Then, we expect the thirsty, hungering souls to simply come in to find the refreshment they are looking for. But, most people are too uncomfortable to enter a sanctuary of seemingly perfect people. So, we need to take the message of refreshment to them.

This message can take on many faces: a neighbor can help someone in a time of need; a co-worker can speak encouragement and reassurance in a hurtful situation; a boss can give special grace to accommodate an employee in a trying time; a friend can offer to pray for a hurting brother or sister through a difficult moment; or, a message can be read in a magazine, devotional, book, or blog that points someone to the saving, life-giving Savior. This is what I think about every time I sit down to write: “where am I going with this item I am writing?”

James 3:1 warns us that those who become teachers will be held to a higher standard than the average person. I don’t think its a far stretch to substitute ‘writer’ for ‘teacher’ in that verse. Both are presenting a message to others and are trying to influence them by that message. Every story has a main message, lesson, or theme. Secondary lessons are often brought out, sometimes unintentionally, depending on the movement of the Holy Spirit on the person reading it. Each of my blog posts holds a main theme, usually presented in the title of the post; sometimes multiple mini-themes are presented in the same post. My goal is always to point readers to Jesus in some way; He’s my ultimate destination.

Of course we all have an ultimate destination we must face: DEATH. Where you go once you cross that point of no return is directly related to your choices you make while you are alive. Specifically, what will you do with Jesus Christ? Use His name as a swear word and you blaspheme the very Son of God. Accept Him as a good person and a great moral teacher and you miss the message He presented while He walked the face of the earth. Accept part of His message while gathering parts of other’s religions and you’re no closer to the truth than if you flat-out reject His whole message. Ignoring Him is the same as rejecting Him!

“I am the way, the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father (God) except through me.” (John 14:6) That is Jesus’ message in a nut shell. He didn’t say that He is one of many ways to God. His is the only birth that didn’t require sperm from a man. His is the only life ever lived without sin. His is the only death that never lasted. That is why He is THE ONLY way to God! His resurrection is proof that He overcame death’s icy grip… accept His gift and He’ll do the same for you.

When Moses was on the mountain receiving God’s message about how God’s chosen people were to live distinctively from others, he asked to see God. In Exodus 33:20 God told Moses “no one may see me and live.” You see, sin-filled people cannot see a perfect God, we can’t be with Him as we are in our present condition. That is the very reason Jesus came to earth, to die as a perfect sacrifice so we can come to be in God’s presence. Jesus is God in a human body, that’s why He never sinned. He died on a cross to display how He was reaching up to God for all of mankind and down from God to show God’s mercy to all of us.

Your first step in fully accepting this gift is to admit your sin, remember only those who are perfect can be with God, and your life is anything but perfect. The next step is to see Jesus’ death as the replacement death you deserve to die, and then you must ask to receive this gift. A simple prayer from the heart. Exact words aren’t as important as your heart’s cry. Follow through with that yearning in your heart right now and my closing is for you.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Death, Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

