I DON’T DESERVE THIS

A change of scenery is nice every once in a while. Today’s post is going to be different from my usual fare. I feel I need to catch y’all up on some personal news and expose you to some new things that God is using me for in writing.

Three and a half years ago I didn’t have a clue that I would be writing anything more than a personal email or note. A year ago I thought all I would write is Christian fiction. Three years ago all I knew of was the one book I was working on. Now I have two ‘completed’ manuscripts; one is a middle grade level story, the other is an adult contemporary tale that I’m shopping around to publishers and agents. I just wrote a children’s picture book that uses the main character from my middle grade book. The last 6 months of the Dallas Christian Family Magazine has featured 5 articles that I wrote (one of them appeared two months in a row). 

Last spring I entered a short story in the 80th annual Writer’s Digest contest. Now this is THE magazine for writers. They have articles from successful authors about how to write. This is what to get to learn the craft of writing from the best in the business. There were over 11,800 entries in this year’s competition. I think there were 5 or 6 categories; they say if you place in the top 100 in any category it’s a sign that your writing is strong. Staying true to my calling I entered one story in the Inspirational section: it placed number 60. Not bad for a first attempt at a short story.

I remember when it became very clear to me that this writing gig was a definite calling from God I sent up a prayer that went something like this: “I don’t know where this writing is going, but I’m going to follow it wherever You lead it.” He’s had quite the sense of humor in waking me up in the middle of the night to give me some of my assignments (I think about complaining about it but I trust my Heavenly Father to know what’s best for me). The New Pledge of Allegiance post that I put out on July 4th was one of those calls.

I’m going to share another such assignment with you. It’s my first endeavor into poetry. As I wrote this I felt that this could become a song someday, but my lack of any musical ability has kept it a poem for the time being. If the Holy Spirit leads any musicians to set these lyrics to song then I’m definitely ready to talk. I apologize for the spacing between the lines of this blog, but my technical abilities are only slightly better than my musical talents. I couldn’t figure out how to change the formating to single space between each line.

Let me know what you think about it in the comment section that follows it.

I DON’T DESERVE THIS

by Wade Webster

 

I’m driving home from work

I never see it come

The impact is immense

The pain I never feel

The noises fade away

Bright light is all I see

The smoke now fills my nose

The weeping becomes loud

I realize where I’m at

I set up my complaint

I don’t deserve this!

There’s nothing in my past

That shows I should be here

I don’t deserve this!

I’ve done more good than bad

Better than most others

I don’t deserve this!

Give me another chance

There must be some mistake

I don’t deserve this!

 

The siren noise I hear

Blood is everywhere

The pain is now intense

The doctors know their stuff

I wake up in a room

A radio I hear

The voice is very clear

I drift off and I dream

Jesus is on the cross

He lodges His complaint

I don’t deserve this!

There’s nothing in My past

I have done nothing wrong

I don’t deserve this!

I’ve done no bad just good

Better than all others

I don’t deserve this!

So you can have a chance

This is not a mistake

I don’t deserve this!

 

My eyes are open now

The radio’s still clear

The message is for me

Just come as you are now

His gift I do receive

The room now fades away

The gate is made of pearl

As I make my way through

I start with my complaint

I don’t deserve this!

There’s nothing in my past

How can I look at God

I don’t deserve this!

Nothing in me but bad

I see my Jesus now

I don’t deserve this!

I took my second chance

He says there’s no mistake

I don’t deserve this!

 

I’ll see you later.   Wade

 

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Death, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I DON’T DESERVE THIS

  1. Randall says:

    About the poem – exquisitely done. I think you have a winner. About those spaces, the only way I know is to go to the end of each line and hit delete. Very time consuming, but that is what I do anyway.

    • Wade Webster says:

      Thanks for the compliment, and the tip. I should have thought of trying that. It’s nice to know I have friends that I haven’t met, yet.
      I just tried your idea… it didn’t work, but I do appreciate the suggestion. Don’t go too far away, I’ll always need more help. 😉

  2. Steve Fischer says:

    Well done brother…well done. Please stay obedient to your assignments…I enjoyed reading your last two posts! Congrats on the writing award. I know you are not in it for that…just a little “kiss from Heaven” to keep you engaged perhaps??

    • Wade Webster says:

      Thanks Steve. Yeah, like any good parent, God is cheering me on in this endeavor by this slight encouragement. Jesus is the One Who needs to be getting the attention here. Not me.

Let me know what you think.

