DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME?

Who’s kidding who here? What, exactly, is being saved by changing our clocks twice a year? Sure, this time of year it works to our advantage by giving us ‘an extra hour of sleep’. Sounds like a gimmick by our politicians to get more votes. I mean if they made it less appealing closer to voting season would we be less likely to vote them back in? Perhaps, so why take that chance?

It used to happen on more predictable weekends: the first weekend in April and the last weekend in October. But, the know-it-alls in Washington had to try to improve upon something that is already ridiculous. By tweaking the absurd they’ve made it so hardly anybody can keep track of when we change our clocks.

I think this all started out as an attempt to give people who work outside more daylight in the evenings to get more work done. I know it helped us on the farm I grew up on quite a bit. Then I think the brainiacs in Washington got a committee together to see if it could be improved upon (instead of trying to balance the federal budget). So they extended the amount of time we’re ‘saving daylight’. Problem is… somebody realized that we were just using our lights more in the mornings, rather than the evenings. so, I guess we aren’t saving as much as we’re supposed to be.

I think the state of Arizona has the right idea. They never got on this rollercoaster to begin with. All they have to do is guess which timezone they’re in at different times of the year. Maybe if we, in Texas, opted out of this mess then other states near us would follow suit. Then we could do away with the Central Time Zone for parts of the year. Maybe the tweakers would take the hint and do away with this fiasco once and for all. On second thought, Washington, D. C. is on the East coast. They don’t care what happens out here in the real world. I guess I’m just ranting here.

I know of one person who had the right clout to truly save a day’s worth of light. Look in Joshua chapter 10, verse 14: “There has never been a day like it before or since, a day when the Lord listened to a man.” The two previous verses tell us that Joshua commanded the sun and moon to stop moving across the sky, and they did. For a full day the shadows didn’t shift just so Israel could defeat their enemy. Now there’s the type of leader I want to follow!

No committee meeting to decide what to do next, just direct access to the One Who controls the movement of the sun and moon. Wait a minute… I do have that connection already! Thanks to Jesus’ atoning work on the cross I am connected to the same God of the universe Who stopped the rotation of the Earth for one full day for Joshua. I’m not in the same circumstance that he was in that I can expect the same event to transpire just because I command it to, but I know He has the power to change things to get things done that He wants done in His time.

This is the assurance I cling to with my writing. I know that God gave me the books to write that I have written, and more that I have yet to write. I’m sure that they will be published in His time by the publisher(s) that He has set aside for the purpose. I’m not so conceited to think that I know how all this will happen. I just know that He has given me the stewardship of these stories and it’s up to me to get them in the right hands as much as I can. But, I’m also not so naive to think that He can’t step in to open a door that I have no control over to get these made real.

When Jesus uses the metaphor of having enough faith to move a mountain (Matthew 17:20) He isn’t talking about only a physical mountain. The publishing industry is a very tough business to get into. That is my mountain that needs to move for God’s work for me to get accomplished. Please pray that His will be done in His time for these things to come to pass.

Do you have the same access to the God of the universe that Joshua had? You can. Anybody can. When Jesus said, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6) He wasn’t blowin’ smoke. He meant it!

Jesus didn’t say he is ‘a’ way, but THE way. Not exactly politically correct, but when you’ve got the goods you don’t need to apply spins to your message.

Jesus also claimed to be THE truth. Yes, there is an absolute truth. His name is Jesus and He wrote the book on how we’re supposed to live. It’s called the Holy Bible; I like to think of it as God’s ‘owner’s manual’ for His creatures, people. That’s you and me.

Jesus is also THE life. He gave us an example to live by when He walked the face of this Earth. When you give Him control of your life He will assist you in living as you’re supposed to live by using the Holy Spirit to help you see the truths in His Word (the Bible) and putting those into practice. I’m telling you, there’s true happiness to be found when you do just that!

When I see those bumper stickers the use various symbols from different religions to spell out the word COEXIST, I say to myself, “Sure, we’ll coexist just fine, now. But when we die and stand before God only those who accept the last part of that verse will exist with God.

Please do that. Your eternal destiny depends on it.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

