THE QUESTION

As Jesus completed the ritual of the Passover Seder with His disciples a sudden silence came over Him. “As it is written, ‘He who shares my bread has lifted up his heel against me.’ I tell you this before it happens so when it does happen you will know I am the One spoken of in scripture.”  

He closed His eyes then shivered. “One of you will betray Me.”

The disciples looked at Jesus as He looked down. They looked at each other. Nobody believed that anybody in the room was capable of committing the unthinkable. So they probed their own hearts.

John looked at Jesus. “Lord, is it I?”

James was next closest to Him. “Lord, is it I?”

The question made its way around the circle of followers. Judas Iscariot was the last to recite it. “Rabbi, is it I?”

Jesus picked up a piece of unleavened bread and chewed it.

As Jesus closed His eyes Peter got John’s attention. He mouthed a request. “Ask Him who it is.”

John leaned back against Jesus’s chest. He could hear His heartbeat. John couldn’t imagine life without this Leader to guide him. “Lord, who is it?”

“It’s the man I give a piece of bread to after I dip it.” Jesus picked up some bread, dipped it and handed it to Judas Iscariot. Jesus looked into his eyes. “What you are about to do, do it quickly.”

Judas took the bread. He lowered his eyebrows as he put the morsel in his mouth. Then he departed into the night.

Jesus sat up. “The Son of Man will now be glorified by and with the Father. My little children I will be with you only a bit longer. As I told the others, where I am going you cannot come now. But you will in time.”

###

This second twist of the evening took each man on a search into his own soul. Jesus’s announcement of one of them betraying Him sent a shock wave through the room. After over three years together they thought they knew each other pretty well. They couldn’t imagine any one else capable of such an act, so they looked deep into their own motives. Perhaps there’s something in me capable of such treachery. Knowing that Jesus knew all things they, one by one, asked Him to point out who it was.

Sharing a meal is an intimate setting. The close proximity to each other as each person takes in sustenance to carry on. Jesus made one last effort to reach out to this betrayer. We’re not told what He dipped the piece of bread in, perhaps it was wine. If so then Judas would be the first disciple to be given the elements of remembrance. But, he didn’t stick around long enough to learn the significance of them. Satan had this man’s heart by this time. I don’t think Judas realized it, yet. He didn’t know how Jesus knew what he was planning, but he took his cue to make his move with the religious authorities.

One significant thing I noticed about Matthew’s recounting of this episode of the disciple’s journey with Jesus. The question asked by eleven of the disciples was addressed to Jesus as LORD, but Judas addressed his question to Rabbi Jesus. Now it’s time to probe your own heart. Is Jesus LORD of your life, or just a teacher? Have you given Him complete control over every part of your heart and soul, or are you merely learning from Him to become a better person?

It’s extremely important how you answer those questions; your eternal destiny hangs in the balance. Only those who have given Jesus Lordship of their souls will spend their eternity in God’s presence. All others will be as Judas, Satan has you already.

Many have gone through the motions of asking Jesus into their hearts, but they haven’t carried through on giving Him Lordship of their lives. The debate rages about whether they will be in Heaven after death or not. Only God knows whose names are written in the Lambs Book of Life (Revelation 21:27). I only know that those who fail to take their relationship with Jesus to the Lordship level are missing out on some pretty significant opportunities in their life.

So, what does a Lordship relationship entail? I’m glad you asked. It means that everything in your life must pass through the filter of Jesus first. I guess I just answered your question with another riddle… let me explain. You probably make all of your decisions based on how they affect you and your family. When you move that into the Lordship arena you ask how Jesus fits into the scheme of things. What does He want me to do?

Let’s take an example. You’re given an opportunity of a promotion at work that will double your salary. Makes perfect sense to take the promotion. Until you take a step back and look at the whole picture. Your oldest child will be in college next year, but your youngest has ten more years of schooling before they reach that level. The new job will force you to travel a lot. You won’t be able to go to very many games or other significant events of your younger children. Would Jesus be happier with your money or your parenting that He entrusted you with?

Tithing is another area to look at. Giving God His portion off the top takes a lot of trust. Can you really live off the 90% that is left over? That’s where a Lordship relationship takes the leap of faith. Trusting God to fill your needs while you forego some of your wants is a test that many don’t want to take. But, those are the people Jesus can use best.

Remember that this world is not our home. We’re just a passin’ through. Deepening your relationship with Jesus now will reap eternal dividends.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Easter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

