A WOMAN REACHES FOR HEALTH

As the woman crested the hill she saw a sea of people between her and the lake. I’ll probably never get to Him. But, I’ve come too far to not at least try.

She was thankful all eyes were on the men getting out of the boat. She should have been warning everybody that she was unclean instead of letting them press in around her. That would only keep her at too much of a distance from her only hope of being whole.

She was amazed that Jesus was making His way in her direction. There were only two people separating them when a hand grabbed her shoulder and pulled her back. Another arm pushed her even farther into the crowd.

She recognized the man in the flowing robe as Jairus, the synagogue ruler. He fell at Jesus’ feet. “My only daughter is gravely ill. Please come and touch her so she will live.”

I need His touch, too!

Jesus nodded. The crowd began to move again.

Too weak to force her way toward Jesus she was grateful the crowd pushed her near the Healer. As He walked past an opening appeared behind Him. She lunged with all her might. A finger brushed Jesus’ garment.

A surge of energy filled her entire being. She knew her efforts had paid off. A man grabbed her arm and helped her back to her feet as Jesus stopped.

“Who touched Me?” Jesus turned around.

Peter looked at Him and waved an arm. “It would be easier to tell You who didn’t touch You with all these people so near.”

The woman pushed people aside with her new-found strength. “It was I, Master. I’ve had a flow of blood for twelve years now. I’ve used all my money, but, no doctor can find a cure. I knew if I could just touch You I’d be healed, and I am.”

Jesus brought His hand up and placed His palm on her cheek. “Daughter, your strong faith is rewarded. Go in peace and live whole.”

Two plainly dressed men pushed their way to Jairus. “Your little girl is dead. Don’t bother the Teacher any further.”

Jesus turned and walked away from the woman. “Peter, James, John come.”

The woman looked at her hands and arms to notice they weren’t pale as before. She moved along with the crowd to stay close to this man who gave her such attention.

###

Desperation will make people do incredible things. When medicine doesn’t do the trick many try herbal treatments, acupuncture, message therapy, or a host of non-traditional methods in search of health.

First century medical care was a far cry from what we experience today. But, desperation was just as rampant. Fortunately, the Healer of the Ages was in the midst of Israel for people to get relief from what ailed them.

The woman in this account had suffered dearly from her uncontrolled bleeding. If she had been married it likely cost her her marriage since it would prohibit intercourse with her husband. If she was unmarried it would push any suitors away.

Alone, she would quickly use up any money she had in medical treatments that failed. If it weren’t for Jesus being in the area she probably would have simply given up and waited to die from her lack of energy.

What stands out in her healing is the fact that she didn’t see the need to explain anything to Jesus for her healing to take place. A simple touch was all she sought. She was convinced that’s all she needed. She was right.

As I read the accounts of this encounter I knew there must be some connections with Jairus’ daughter and this woman. I found a few.

1. Both had their conditions for twelve years. Dr. Luke made sure we knew this fact. Some of you are asking, “Alright, we know the woman had a bleeding issue. What did the girl have to deal with?”

The girl had the same condition we all have to face. Her issue is called ‘life.’ I have yet to find anybody who hasn’t kept death from entering their world. The age of the person as the only variable.

2. Neither had to ask Jesus directly for their healing. The woman didn’t get Jesus’ attention until He sought her out after her resolution. The girl died before she had a chance to say anything to Jesus.

There was a personal acknowledgement of the need for intercession. But, a public one wasn’t required.

3. Both had instantaneous healings. Mark and Luke both use the word ‘immediately’ when they give this account of the woman touching Jesus clothes. Jesus gives the order to give the girl something to eat right after He puts her soul back in her body. There was never a doubt as to when, or if, the healing would take place.

Jesus took time out of His busy life to give some of His precious time and attention as He made His way to another healing appointment. Never rushed to get all He needed to accomplish in His brief three-and-a-half year earthly ministry. That’s the Jesus I love.

I so long to emulate that attitude in my life. I’m too easily distracted by the urgency of the mundane things in my life to stop and listen to others. My time is too short. I’m pulled in too many directions. If I take time for each person who seeks my time I’ll never accomplish anything of value.

That’s the logic of this age. Isn’t it? Nobody was more in demand than Jesus was, and rightly so. How did He have time for all of the people who crossed His path? He simply gave them His time while He could. I’m convinced that if we could catch this one truth the revival would sweep the world so quickly it would make our heads spin.

Let’s put this into practice like Jesus did. One person at a time.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Widows/Orphans and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

