LITTLE CHILDREN COME TO JESUS

As Jesus led His disciples into the next town a gathering of women approached Him with their children.

The first woman held her infant out to Jesus. “Will you, please, touch my son?”

Other women stepped forward. “Mine, too!” “Mine, too!”

Peter and James stepped in front of Jesus as He reached out to the nearest child. “Ladies, can’t you see we’re on our way to the synagogue to teach? We don’t have time for this.”

Jesus grabbed both men by the shoulder and pulled them back to the group. The stern look on His face silenced any objections. “If it pains you so much to see Me with these precious little ones, then, suffer through it. The Kingdom of God is made up of such as these.”

A girl toddled up to Jesus. He turned and smiled. She lost her balance and fell backward.

He squatted down. “Come on Sweety. You can do it.”

She stood and walked toward His waiting hands. Just before she reached Him she paused. Jesus grabbed her in mid-fall, picked her up and danced in a large circle.  He stopped when they came around to the waiting men. Her giggle made all of the disciples smile.

She jerked in His arms. “More…more!”

Jesus smiled at her. “You want more?”

She nodded, so He made another couple of rounds with His dance partner. He stopped when they approached the women, handing her back to her mother. He made sure He touched every last child before they all went their way.

Jesus came up to His disciples. “Mark My words,whoever doesn’t receive the kingdom of God like a little child will by no means enter into it.”

###

I’ve been so looking forward to writing this scene. How many of you have never pictured Jesus dancing and smiling? I hope I’ve changed that perception of our Savior for you.

So, what is Jesus talking about when He says we must receive the kingdom of God as a little child? I can best answer that question with one word:

TRUST

As children develop they become aware of different things along their road to maturity. One of the first things they realize is the fact that adults (most likely their parents) know more than they do. So, they know they can trust these big people from their past experience.

I’ll never forget the time I saw this played out right in front of me. My first niece was born shortly after I graduated from high school. Once, when I was home from college, they were visiting my parents.

Melody came up with one of those profound questions children ask as they begin to explore their world. I don’t remember what the question was, but, I’ll never forget the exchange that took place, especially because of her dad’s smart-alec-y sense of humor.

After she posed her query her dad paused to come up with an appropriate reply. She interrupted his opportunity by offering an answer that would satisfy her curiosity. “For why?”

He chuckled. “Yeah, for why.”

“Oh…” She went back to playing.

You see, it didn’t matter to her that his stock answer for most of her questions didn’t make sense to anyone else. He said it, so that was enough for her.

Oh, how God so longs for His children to display that much trust in His answers. Most of what’s in the Bible doesn’t make sense to non-believers. How can it? It’s the indwelling Holy Spirit who explains it to us. His answers don’t make sense to them because they don’t have that experience of seeing His answers become reality in their lives.

Our adoption into the spiritual family gives us the basis to develop this trust so we can accept God’s provision into the kingdom He’s establishing. You see, it doesn’t take much to make God happy. Just take Him at His word.

“SO, you’re telling me I’m supposed to shut my brain off and not ask any questions?”

That’s not what I’m saying. During the development of your spiritual relationship with God you’ll have questions. That’s inevitable. Some of those questions will have an answer in the Bible that you can discover on your own with regular study. Others will be answerable by those more learned than you.

But, there will arise those questions that our finite minds won’t be able to grasp because of the infinite qualities of God. Those are the times we’ll need to trust Him and take Him at His word.

Melody displayed an incredible trust in me, too. The old farmhouse we lived in had high ceilings. I used to toss her up and catch her. She never tired of this game, giggling the whole time.

I’ll never forget the time the little dare-devil turned gymnast on me. I tossed her up as usual, but, this time she added to the game by twisting in mid-air. She completed an entire revolution before I could grab her. Her grandmother got after me for being so careless. I had to explain to her that I wasn’t doing it. She was, laughing the whole time.

Now, that’s taking your relationship with God to a whole new level when you step out in faith to accomplish something for God that takes your trust to another depth. These end up being the people we look up to and desire to emulate.

Missionaries who begin new organizations to reach a previously unreached people group with the gospel come to mind. As do those who come up with new ways to help the poor and destitute living in their midst.

You see, it doesn’t take much to make the Creator of the Universe happy. Simply step out of your comfort zone in trust. Believing He will catch you because you’re relying on Him to bring others to His kingdom.

You’re reading part of my offering to this end. Four years is a short tenure to be writing things that bring others to God.

What can you do?

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Widows/Orphans and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

