A GIRL’S CHOICE

“I’m going out to fetch some water.” Rebekah raised the jug to her shoulder.

Laban looked up from counting his coins. “You sure are strange. Why don’t you wait til it starts to cool down, like the other women?”

Rebekah walked to the door. “I like the alone time at the well. I’m too uncomfortable with the conversations of most of the women.”

As she approached the well she saw a band of travelers stopping for a rest. I’ve never seen these people before. I bet they’ll be stopping for the night.

Rebekah lowered her jug into the well and lifted some water out.

The leader of the group approached. “Excuse me, could I have a drink?”

“Of course.” She lowered the jug off her shoulder and handed the jug to him. “I’ll draw water for your camels, too.”

After the 57th trip to the trough Rebekah looked at the stranger. “I forgot how much water camels can drink. You must have come from a long distance.”

The man smiled and nodded as he watched her complete a few more trips to the well. When the camels stopped drinking he retrieved a gold nose ring and two bracelets. He placed these on her. “Tell me, whose daughter are you?”

“My father’s name is Bethuel, my mother is Milcah, my grandfather is Nahor. We have room for you and your camels, along with food for all of you if you need to spend the night.”

The man fell on his face. “Praise the Lord God of my master, Abraham. I have been led to his family by Him.”

Rebekah’s mouth dropped open, then, she ran to the house. She stopped inside and stared at Laban.

He glanced at her. “Where’s the water? Can’t you even…” His mouth dropped open when he saw the bracelets, then, as he looked up he noticed the nose ring. “What happened to you?”

Rebekah pointed toward the well. “There’s a man at the well. He says he’s Uncle Abraham’s servant.”

Laban opened the door and saw the camels and men. He turned toward the servants. “Prepare the stables for six camels. Fix our best goat for a feast.” He closed the door and ran to the well.

He came to a stop by the well. “Come, my friends. We’ve prepared a place for your camels and you. Share a meal with us.”

A tent was set up to store what was unloaded from the camels. The men washed their feet before entering the house for a meal.

The leader stood as the others sat down. “I will not eat until I tell you why I’ve come.”

Laban waved a hand toward him. “Then, please, share your heart.”

“God has prospered Abraham greatly. Sarah has born a son to him in her old age and he has been given everything. Abraham is insistent that Isaac not marry a woman from the people we live with, so, I am here to bring back a wife for Isaac. When I came to your well I prayed to Abraham’s God for a sign. I said I would know I found the wife for Isaac when I asked for a drink and the woman would also water the camels. Your Rebekah did exactly that. Now, please, show favor to me by sending her with me so she can fulfill this request.”

Bethuel looked at his daughter. Her mouth was gaping, then, turned into a smile. “If this is from the Lord who are we to say if it’s right or wrong? Here is the young woman. Take her to be the wife of Abraham’s son.”

Abraham’s servant bowed down in worship of God. When he stood he clapped his hands. His men brought gifts to Rebekah and the rest of the family. The feast was enjoyed by all before they retired for the night.

In the morning Laban and Milcah approached Abraham’s servants as they were packing and loading the camels. “May we have a word with you?”

The lead servant stepped aside and listened.

“Since we’re unable to be at the wedding of our sister will you allow her to stay here for a time? About ten days should suffice.”

The servant frowned. “Please, show me favor by letting us go today. I’ve been granted success by God and don’t want to lose His favor.”

Milcah looked at Laban. “Let’s let Rebekah decide.”

They sent for her. “Do you wish to leave today?”

Rebekah looked around at the city, then, at the camels. “I don’t fit in here. This is my destiny. I just know it. I do want to leave as soon as possible.”

Her mother sobbed as they hugged. Laban made it a group hug. “Our sister, may you be the mother of many thousands. May your offspring overthrow their enemies.”

Preparations continued for an immediate exit.

###

Some people seem to know what they want to do with their life at an early age. Others take longer to decide. There are advantages and disadvantages to each camp. Rebekah knew she needed to be gone from where she was to fulfill her destiny.

Knowing when others are trying to give good counsel and trying to stop you for their interests alone can be very murky sometimes.

Here are some guidelines:

1. Is God in this? Rebekah knew God was behind this. Have you prayed about it? Don’t follow your emotions. God needs to be key in the decision.

2. Do I have a peace about it? When you step back and analyze the situation, are you excited by the unknown or calm. Emotions can push us too fast. God calms us to do His will.

3. Are wiser people behind this? Do you have a trusted mentor who encourages this decision? Rebekah’s dad was behind this, her mom and brother tried to delay it. I think I know who was walking closer to God at the time.

There are times when swift action is needed and times we need to wait. Pray for God’s guidance.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

