A TWIN’S FOOLISHNESS

“Abba’s going to be disappointed when I come home empty-handed. But, there’s just nothin’ out here today.” Esau wiped the sweat from his brow.

That sun sure is hot. I’m going in. I’m gonna die if I stay out here much longer.

Each foot felt like one of stones he stepped over. The heat drained him to the core. The smell of lentil stew pulled him home.

Esau leaned on his bow before he fell to his knees in front of Jacob’s boiling pot. “Give me some of that red stew before I pass out.”

Jacob raised his eyebrows. “Sell me your birthright in exchange for some stew.”

Esau looked from the stew, to his twin, back to the stew. “Look, I’m about to die if I don’t get something to eat. What good is a birthright going to do me then. Okay, just give me some stew.”

Jacob lifted his right leg up off the chair. “Place your hand under my thigh and swear to me as of today I’ll have the birthright.”

Esau lowered his eyebrows. “What are you talking about? I just told you You could have the birthright. Now, give me some stew.”

Jacob held his position. “It’s what Grandpa’s servant had to do when he went to get Mom. Now, swear to me as of today I have the birthright.”

Esau stood and staggered over to Jacob. He placed his hand under the thigh. “As of today you have the right of the first-born son in the family. Now, can I have some stew?”

Jacob stood, filled a bowl with stew and handed it to Esau with a piece of bread.

Esau used the bread as a spoon to shovel the food into his mouth. Jacob gave him a glass of water to wash it down with. Esau stood and left without saying a word. Jacob smiled as he watched his brother enter their father’s tent.

###

Some of you are wondering why I included this story in my series on teenagers since the Bible doesn’t tell us their age at the time of this incident. I’m merely guessing they were teenagers when this took place by the reactions of the two people here.

I’ve heard it said that teenagers’ brains lack the capacity to discern consequences when making decisions. I believe Esau displayed this attribute quite well in this instance. Don’t you?

These two boys never got along, not even in their mother’s shared womb. Rebekah even went straight to God to find out what was going on inside her because of all the turmoil that ensued. God told her there were two nations in her that were already at war. The fact that the younger one would rule over the older one meant a lot more to her then than it does to us, today.

First-born sons had a great advantage over the rest of the family in that culture. Not the least of which, they would get the lion’s share of the family’s inheritance when the father passed away.

Jacob was so insistent that Esau not have that advantage that he grabbed Esau’s heel when  he was left behind in the birthing process. I’m confident Rebekah retold that part of the family history numerous times to the younger twin.

Unlike Esau, we each have a birthright we need to give up. The sooner we do the better off we’ll be. Paul brings this up in Romans 5:12-21, and, again, in 1 Corinthians 15:21-22.

You see, the very first people God created did something that was passed down to every one of their descendants, even to us today. Their disobedience to God brought death to each of us through their sin. That sin nature is a part of each person born ever since then.

This birthright of sin is the thing we need to shed ourselves of if we ever stand a chance of finding fulfillment and happiness in life. That’s not the message society gives us, but, that is God’s message I need to give you now.

Those Bible verses I gave you earlier have verses surrounding them that you should take the time to read carefully. In them you’ll find the only way we can give up this birthright that leads to death. It comes from the only person who never sinned, Jesus Christ.

“But, how did Jesus live without sinning while the rest of us can’t?”

I’m glad you asked, because that’s the key to finding this method of shedding ourselves of this deadly birthright. Go back to Luke 1:26-38 to see how Jesus’ life was so different from the rest of us. Yeah, Jesus didn’t have an earthly father involved in beginning His life. God is Jesus’ Father. That’s how He didn’t share this deadly birthright with the rest of us.

That’s also why Jesus was the only one capable of being the substitute God would receive on our behalf with His death on the cross. Yeah, Jesus took our place in God’s eyes when He died.

To accept this new birthright we have to accept the gift that He hands us now. His “stew,” as it were, is believing His death is the only way for us to come back into a right relationship with God the Father.

The “oath” we must make is a simple prayer to God. It follows along these lines:

God in Heaven,

I come to you as one who doesn’t deserve Your attention, let alone Your love,

my only hope of becoming one of Your children is the death Jesus died.

Please forgive me for all the wrong I’ve done in my ignorance. I’m sorry.

I believe Jesus is Your only Son, and His resurrection from the dead my proof

that He has overcome this bitter enemy, death.

Thank You for healing me and taking me as one of your own.

In Jesus’ name, AMEN.

If you pray a similar prayer from your heart you now share in the inheritance of Jesus.

A kingdom now awaits you!

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

