A BOY’S DREAMS

Joseph approached his brothers as they were preparing to go out to tend to the herds. “You’re not going to believe the dream I had last night. It was so real, even though it doesn’t make any sense.”

Levi looked at him. “Yes, highly favored one, please share what insights you have for us. We could all use a good laugh.”

The brothers chuckled as Joseph stepped in the group. “We were all harvesting wheat one day. It was a good crop.”

Judah tapped Issachar’s arm. “This has to be a dream. I could only imagine the blisters his smooth hands would get from actually working.”

Joseph ignored the laughter. “My bundle of wheat stood tall in the middle of the field as your bundles came and stood around it. Then, your bundles bowed down to mine.”

Reuben walked up to Joseph. “Are we going to bow to you?” He bent forward. “Let me start to practice now.”

Joseph watched as the others mimicked the eldest sibling. Then, he walked back to his father’s tent.

A few days later Joseph came to a full breakfast table. He took his seat next to their father, Israel. “Would you like to hear my dream, Abba?”

Reuben smiled as he chewed. “Does this one involve physical labor?”

Joseph glared at him as Israel nodded. “The sun, moon and eleven stars bowed down to me.”

Israel set his food back on his plate. “Are your mother and I, along with your brothers going to bow to you one day?”

The brothers burst into laughter. Dan held a hand out. “No, I’m not going to waste my energy playing that game again. I live in the real world. I’m saving myself for important things.”

Israel stared at the table, then, at Joseph as he filled his plate.

###

Dreams, some people have a lot of them, others never remember any.

Anybody whose read the Bible knows that Joseph’s dreams here actually were prophetic. His entire family, as well as many more who were totally unrelated, bowed down to the second-in-command in the mightiest empire of that day.

But, does God still use dreams to get His work done, today? Yes, He does. Let me be quick to say that this isn’t the primary means God uses. Bible reading would fill that role.

I shared in one of my early posts how God spoke to me in dreams in my youth. I called it: My Dreams. I didn’t know what they meant at the time, but, looking back I see it clearly.

Being a creative type I’ve had some very vivid dreams. Most of them I’ve forgotten, usually quite quickly. Some have made a lasting impact. So, don’t discount your subconscious workings.

I’ve dreamed scenes to books I’m working on, and had dreams become story ideas. Yeah, God still uses dreams today.

He used dreams to speak to a bewildered young carpenter to give him the backbone to stand up for the mother of Jesus. He gave messages in dreams to the Apostles to get them to move where He wanted them to go.

Sometimes sleeping is the only time people slow down enough to be still and know God to the point of God speaking to them. So, don’t be too quick in throwing your dreams away.

I think the reason dreams can be so effective for God to communicate to us is the fact that we don’t have our senses engaged to distract us from the spirit world we live in. I know, some of you are squirming now that I mentioned that. But, it is real. Just because we can’t experience it with our faculties doesn’t mean it isn’t there.

Remember when Jesus was talking to the Samaritan woman at the well? She asked Him where people should be worshiping God. Jesus explained that the place isn’t important because God isn’t confined to a physical location. God is spirit so we must worship Him in the Spirit and truth.

Angels exist on that level, as do demons. They’re battling all around us all the time. We’ll be amazed to learn of all the near-misses we avoided because of our guardian angel’s efforts on our behalf.

Like I’ve said so many times. Reading and studying the Bible are the principal means of God revealing His will for us. When Jesus said we must worship in Spirit and truth He meant it. The only place we’re going to find the truth is by reading the Bible. God inspired the writers of that book more than He has inspired any other writers since then. So pay close attention to what you read in it.

God created each of us to be different. So, I can’t give you a formula to tell you how to tap into God’s dream response system. There are no clear-cut answers to how and when God uses dreams to get a point across. He does things His way in His time because He doesn’t answer to anybody.

Our goal is to develop a close personal relationship with the Creator of the universe by reading His instruction manual for us, that’s what I like to call the Bible. The closer you walk with God the more likely He’ll speak to you in a dream, but, there are no promises.

I’ve heard of God speaking to people in a dream who never heard the name of Jesus Christ in an attempt to get their attention and bring them into the spiritual family. Like I said: God calls the shots, He doesn’t answer to anybody.

So, don’t feel like a second-class spiritual citizen in God’s family if you’ve never experienced a significant dream. It only means God hasn’t chosen to speak to you that way. That includes the vast majority of Christians, so, get used to it.

Look for God in the pages of the Bible. That’s where I find Him the most often and the most clearly.

That’s where He longs for you to find Him.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

