A TEEN’S AUDACITY

The look in Jonathon’s eyes couldn’t be ignored. “What are you thinking?”

Jonathon shook out of his trance and smiled. “Grab our stuff. God’s calling us to action.”

“But, what if your father says no?”

“We won’t tell him. Stay quiet. I don’t want to wake anybody else up.”

As Jonathon exits the tent I do my best to silently handle the armor he wears in battle. I’ll carry his sword on my waist until he calls for it. The only other sword in all of Israel belongs to his father, King Saul.

Jonathon returns and hands me a section of unleavened bread. “Here, eat this. We’ll need our strength.”

I fasten his breastplate on him as I chew the tough food. The morning chill is the only thing that follows us out of camp. No one else is even stirring.

By the time we near the Philistine outpost the sun has warmed us. Its rays are shining over the cliffs called Bozez and Seneh. I await further instruction as we rest on the edge of the field.

Jonathon’s eyes pierce through me. “Come, let’s take these uncircumcised fellows to task. Perhaps God will fight for us. Nothing can defeat Him, whether it’s with many or few.”

I nod. “I’m tired of waiting for the king to take action. I’m with you 100%. Let’s go!”

Jonathon’s hand holds me back. “Here’s the plan. We’ll go out in the field and let them see us. If they say they’ll come down to us we’ll wait for them here. But, if they tell us to come up to them we’ll take that as our sign that God is on our side. They won’t know what hit ’em.”

As we come to the middle of the field Jonathon makes sure the sun’s glint hits one of the Philistine’s eyes.

The man stands and faces us. “Well, well, looky here. The Hebrew rats are finally coming out of their holes.”

Soon the whole detachment is on the edge of the cliff. One of them motions with his hand. “Come on up here, boys. Perhaps you’ve never seen what a real man looks like.”

There’s a purpose in each of Jonathon’s steps that I’ve never seen as I follow him. Although the climb is steep we’re hardly winded when we reach the top.

The Philistines are facing us in a semi-circle with their clothes undone. “Here’s what you’re missing, boys, by being a Jew.”

Jonathon steps forward without asking for his sword and looks the leader in the eyes. “I’d much rather follow the One True God than to be as miserable as you’re about to be.”

A quick knee to his uncircumcision sends the first man to the ground. I pull the sword and separate his head from his shoulders.

As the other men try to put themselves together Jonathon brings them to the ground as fast as he can. Their blood mingles on the sword as I make quick work of them one after the other.

As the last few men run off I look back and count about twenty corpses in an area the size of a field a man can plow in a day.

God delivered us mightily that day!

###

They say a person isn’t a leader if they have no one to follow them. From reading this Bible story it appears a person can be a great leader if they have only one quality follower. That’s what I consider Jonathon’s armor bearer here–quality.

We’re not told in this account in 1 Samuel 14 the age of these two Jews. But, it’s possible both of them were teenagers at the time of this incident. I’m quite confident the un-named armor bearer was even if Jonathon wasn’t.

So, what was the anointed King Saul doing while his son and his cohort were winning a battle? Sitting under a shade tree with 600 men waiting his orders. His indecision was getting God’s people nowhere. Is it any wonder David was so close to Jonathon?

The thing that stands out to me the most about these two men is their lack of fear of these Philistines. They never show a sign of flinching in the face of this battle. Their confidence in their God was their source of strength. He’s still the same God today.

So, what battle are you facing today? Who is the enemy taunting you? What do you need to turn to God to for strength to face this menace that’s standing in the way of you moving forward?

God is fully aware of your circumstances. He knows what needs to be done. Perhaps you do, too. You’re just not confident you can accomplish the task at hand. Turn to God for your strength and wisdom. He’s waiting for you to trust Him. That’s what this test is all about, building your faith in Him.

Maybe you could use an armor bearer in your life. Someone who has your back so you can do your part as they finish it off. Seek this person out by praying about it and letting others know your situation. God can bring the right person along-side you to help you get the job done, but, you have to ask for help to receive it.

Ecclesiastes 4:12

Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves.

A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.

So, you see, there is power in numbers. Just remember that God doesn’t need that number to be large to show His strength in our weakness. A small group can do more than a large group if God is a silent partner in that small group.

Ask God for the boldness of Jonathon today. He’ll give you what you need to build your faith and establish a confidence that will give you an audacity to do even greater things in the future. But, you must step out in faith first.

I wouldn’t be writing this if I hadn’t seen it work in my life.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

