A TEEN’S QUESTION

As David entered the house his father called from his favorite chair. “David, my son, I need you to do something for me.”

David approached the old man. “What is it, Abba?”

Jesse sat up and put a hand on David’s arm. “Your three oldest brothers are with Saul and the army in the valley of Elah fighting the Philistines. I want you to take some food to them in the morning and bring back word of how they’re doing.”

David’s hand brushed Jesse’s hair back. “Of course, Abba. I’ll do whatever you want.”

David tried in vain to sleep. He ended his tossing by walking out to the sheep. He approached the paddock and shook the servant awake.

The yell and fumbling of the servant started the sheep to stirring.

David held his hand out to them. “It’s okay, guys. It’s just me.”

Upon hearing David’s voice the sheep quickly fell back into slumber.

David looked at the servant. “I just want you to know that I’ll be gone for a while. I trust you with the sheep. They’re yours until further notice.”

The servant’s mouth closed. “Okay.”

David stood. “You can go back to sleep now.”

The servant sat up. “Yeah, right.”

David walked away from the sheepfold for the last time.

###

The sun was breaking over the horizon as David came into the camp. The men were in formation. The captains were barking orders. Suddenly the war cry rose and everybody approached the Philistines in the valley.

David quickly dumped the food his father sent with him with the supply clerk and joined the men in battle formation. The Philistines definitely had the upper-hand  with their swords. He found his brothers. “Hi guys. Abba wants to know how you’re doing. I don’t see any blood on you, so, I assume you’re fine.”

Goliath stepped forward from the Philistine ranks and stopped in the middle of the valley. “Why are you servants of Saul coming with your whole army to fight us? I’ll make you a deal: I’ll fight any one of you. If your man wins we’ll be your servants, but, if I win you’ll be ours to do with as we please.” His laughter echoed through the valley.

David soon found himself standing all alone as the entire army fell back without hearing an order from their commander. David’s fists tightened as he stared at the large man.

He turned around and approached a shaking squadron. “What will be done for the man who brings that uncircumcised punk down to size?”

David’s oldest brother, Eliab, came up to him. “What are you doing here, anyway? And who did you leave those scraggly sheep with in the desert? Ever sense Samuel anointed you you’ve been impossible to live with.”

David turned to him. “What have I done now? In case you haven’t noticed there’s a cause to fight for here. How dare anybody defy the armies of the living God.”

David turned and asked about the bounty on Goliath’s head to another group of soldiers.

“Saul will give his daughter in marriage along with great wealth and he’ll exempt his entire family from taxes.”

General Abner walked up to David. “King Saul would like a word with you, young man.”

###

So, how does God go about preparing a shepherd boy to be the king? Step 2: He has him show his tenacity to stand up for God’s chosen people at all cost to the military members.

David didn’t know that he’d walked away from the sheep for the last time that day. But, the twisted road of his life was about to take a steep upward grade as he would become a hero before the sun set that evening. God has a propensity to take an ordinary day and change a life with a simple decision. At least that’s been my observation.

I notice God didn’t have David walk up to the king and say, “Hey, Saul. I’ll take this twerp out with my slingshot with God fighting for me.” No, he asked the soldiers near him what the stakes were so they’d see what he was made of. That’s the way God works behind the scenes.

So, what made David different from the others? David possessed something nobody else in the army had, not even his brothers. Did you catch it at his anointing? The Spirit of God entered him.

God’s Spirit played a vastly different role in Old Testament times than He does today. We have the promise of a permanent residency of the Holy Spirit upon our salvation decision. King Saul had the Spirit in him for a time, but, he lost it when he overstepped his bounds before God. That Spirit now resided in David and it showed in this instance.

For 40 days Goliath had drilled into the Israeli army that they were “servants of Saul.” David knew better than that. He saw them for who they were: servants of the living God. And that God would be the one who would win this battle, no matter who did the fighting.

So, what is it in your life that needs to be re-labeled? What giant have you been facing for too long as you’ve been cowering from action? Remember who your Strength and Provider is. God will stand up and win this battle for you, but, you must take your stand and declare your need for Him to do just that.

Don’t hear me wrong, now. I’m not pushing a “name it and claim it” philosophy. You still need to take action, but, you have to look at your situation through God’s eyes for a new perspective. Your test is designed to make you trust in His strength, not your power.

Pour your heart out to God in prayer over the situation. He may surprise you by giving you new insight to a solution. He has a plan to make you more like Jesus through this.

I know because the Bible tells me so. See Romans 8:28-29.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

