A TEEN’S REFUSAL

King Saul was pacing with his hands behind his back. The leather strip in his hand probably wouldn’t last the day in one piece from the fidgeting.

David walked up to him and stood tall. “Don’t let anyone’s heart fail him, Sir. Your servant will fight this uncircumcised fellow for God.”

Saul looked down at David. “How can you fight him? You’re only a youth. He’s been a killing machine longer that you’ve been alive.”

David looked into blood-shot eyes. “While it’s true I’ve only been a shepherd in my short life I know God is with me. There was the time a lion came and took one of my Abba’s sheep. I went after the lion and grabbed its tail. It released the lamb and turned on me. I grabbed its mane and struck it dead. The same thing happened with a bear. I know full well that it wasn’t my strength that killed those animals, but God’s power in me.

“Sure I haven’t killed a man, but, I’ll be fighting in the name of the living God who’ll take a stand for His people with whoever goes out to fight for Him.”

Saul nodded. “Go, then. And, um, the Lord be with you.”

David turned to leave.

Saul held out his hand. “Wait, David. You’ll need some armor for protection. You can’t fight in a war without armor. Here, you can take mine.”

Saul took his breastplate off and waited for David to receive a coat of mail from Abner. David walked into Saul’s armor and they placed a bronze helmet on his head. He tried to walk and move his arms.

He leaned forward and let the helmet fall to the ground. “No disrespect, Sir. But, I can hardly move in this outfit let alone fight. God anointed you to be the current king of Israel. You’re the one who needs this protection. Take it back, Sir.”

Abner helped David out of the armor and placed it back on Saul.

David took his slingshot out of his pouch and tied one end of it to his wrist. He looked down the hill at the brook. “I need some rocks.”

###

So, how does God go about preparing a shepherd boy to be the king? Step 3: He tests him with receiving the crown before his time.

Too many people rush through this part of the David and Goliath story to get to the exciting part. They miss the significance of what Saul was doing in this instance.

There’s actually a lot going on in this scene that people miss. The first thing we need to ask is: who was best suited to take on this large Philistine man?

For that answer we need to go back to part of the reason Saul was chosen to be the first king in the first place. Remember? He was a full head and shoulders taller than anybody else in Israel. Inch for inch Saul was the best candidate to fight Goliath. The fact that he was also their king put even more weight on his shoulders.

Now you know why Saul was so relieved that David came forward and demanded the opportunity to fight this giant. Saul was ready to relinquish his throne right then and there.  But, David knew it wasn’t his time, yet.

It was very obvious to everybody that David wasn’t able to fit into the king’s armor at this point. David’s focus was on the task at hand: taking out this reproach from Israel. He knew the throne wasn’t big enough for two men. His time would come, but, not now.

As long as Saul was alive David respected God’s anointing of him to be Israel’s rightful king. David’s anointing was as Saul’s replacement after his death. Any time sooner would be against God’s will. David obviously passed this test with flying colors.

So, what about you? What have you been waiting for? What is there in your life that you feel called to do, but, haven’t been able to do?

Is there a promotion at work you feel qualified for, but, you’ve been passed over more than once? How about that office in school you’ve run for a few times, but, always come in second? Maybe its a job at a certain company you’d love to work for, but, you haven’t even been able to get your foot in the door.

The more people I talk to the more people I find are in God’s waiting room. So, why does it feel like such a lonely place? Why do we feel so isolated when God says to wait?

It’s because God works with each individual on an individual basis. Your dilemma is a personal trial for you. That’s the way it’s designed to be. But, that doesn’t mean we’re not able to share it with anybody else. Not at all.

The body of Christ is designed to work in harmony and share in each other’s burdens. You’ll be surprised at the amount of support you’ll give and receive when you share your struggle with those who carry a similar load. By bringing each other’s burdens to Heaven’s throne we encourage one another to keep on keeping on.

If God gives you a certain desire and you’ve done your best to prepare yourself to meet the requirements to fulfill that desire, then, keep your faith that God will remove the barriers in  His time.

I’m doing that with my writing. I know the books will come. I’m doing what I can to get the attention of agents and publishers while I learn to improve my writing voice and craft. I’m confident the future for me is in writing books that touch hearts for Christ.

When you see me in God’s waiting room I’ll be the guy with his head bent over a keyboard typing more words for God to use to encourage others.

Don’t be afraid to interrupt me for a chat. That’s what brothers are for.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

