A HERO’S SPOILS

The laughter that rose from the abandoned Philistine camp made David smile. The spoils from the battle were being collected and would be distributed later.

The large sword he carried suddenly felt heavy. An empty tent would be sufficient for him after the excitement and exertion of the battle.

His attention was drawn to a man standing guard at one of the tents.

As he approached the man stood erect. “Excuse me. Why aren’t you gathering spoils like the others?”

The man looked straight ahead. “This was Goliath’s tent, Sir. I have some men gathering his armor now. We’ll be saving this for you.”

“Me? But, I’m not even a member of the army. By the way my name is David.” He stuck his hand out for a shake.

The man looked down without moving. Then, he stood at ease and shook David’s hand. “Everybody knows who you are, Sir. My name is Joab. Is it true what Eliab said? Did Samuel really anoint you to be Israel’s next king?”

David nodded. “Yeah, but, I don’t know why. I don’t even want the job. How can anyone lead God’s chosen people. We’re supposed to be following Him.”

Joab watched the two men carrying Goliath’s breastplate to the tent. “I’ll follow you anywhere, Sir. I know God’s Spirit is in you. That’s the only way you could have won that battle. Remember me when your time comes.”

David looked at the sword in Joab’s left hand. “For somebody who never handled a sword before I was impressed with how efficiently you used that weapon. I don’t know of anybody I’d rather have standing by my side than you.”

“Thank you, Sir.” Joab held the tent flap open for the men. Then he noticed Abner coming near. “I believe the king is wanting some of your time.”

Abner walked up to David. “David, the king wishes to see you.”

As David started to follow Abner Joab pulled him aside and whispered, “I’ve never trusted that man.”

David handed Joab his sword. “Here, put this with the rest of the armor.”

He jogged up to the general. “Can we stop at the body? There’s something I want to do.”

Abner glanced at David. “Of course, take all the time you want.”

David swore the body had grown since he beheaded it. He stood at Goliath’s feet and fell forward to compare their sizes. David looked over at Goliath’s ribs. He looked up at the muscular arm that stretched out above him. He stood and walked over to the hand.

David’s outstretched hand only covered Goliath’s palm. “I’m sure glad this didn’t come down to hand-to-hand combat.”

David walked over to Goliath’s head, wrapped some hair at the top of the head around his hand and stood. “Okay, I’m ready to see the king, now.”

A trail of blood showed the path David took to the king.

###

How does God go about making a shepherd boy into a king? Step 5: Start aligning his future staff with ardent admirers.

Okay, I admit this part of the story isn’t in the Bible. But, I can see this happening at this time. At some point Joab would meet David and give his allegiance. Why not here?

David’s tenacity and determination were on display for all the army personnel who didn’t have the guts to take this stand for God. David’s following would be immediate and complete. After all, he did what even King Saul wouldn’t do.

The Bible does tell us that Goliath’s armor was put in his tent for David, and that David took Goliath’s head to Jerusalem. It would be quite a few years before David would make Jerusalem the capital city. I’m sure the head was nothing more than a skull complete with stone embedded in the forehead by that time. But, he kept it as a reminder of the day God used him to win a mighty battle.

So, what spoils of war do you have in your life? What mementos do you hold onto to remind you of spiritual battles you’ve seen God win for you in your life?

Is there a book you hold onto that opened your eyes to God’s truth and changed your life?

Perhaps a broken liquor bottle stands as a trophy of how God rescued you from a vile addiction in your past.

Maybe every time you see a certain family member you’re reminded of God’s miraculous healing ability.

A journal can be a great way to be reminded of God’s provisions for you. As you look back at some of your earlier entries you’ll be amazed at how far you’ve traveled in your spiritual journey. Make special note of answered prayer requests.

Perhaps you’re at a season of struggle in your walk with Christ and can’t recall any victories. Don’t give up. This journey is a long uphill climb.

Sometimes you may need to rest and lean on somebody else to help you continue, but, don’t walk away from God now. He’ll never leave you nor forsake you. Your souvenir is waiting for you shortly. Believe it, my friend.

David’s relationship with God was quite deep by this point in his young life. Yours may take more time to develop into such a bond.

Stay the course of reading the Bible deliberately. Don’t just read it like a school textbook. Take your time and re-read portions, like this section, and let them become a part of you. Try to put yourself in the scene, sometimes as the main character, other times as a bystander.

The Bible is designed to be a guidebook for us to live by. Keep that perspective and your relationship with Jesus will grow exponentially.

Collect reminders of God’s provision in your life. Keep treasures from when God stepped in and moved a mountain, or a giant, for your.

Then, the next time you’re weary and feel like giving up you’ll have a physical reminder of how awesome God really is.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A HERO’S SPOILS

  1. dianegates says:

    Great blog, Wade. I love your heart for God and for His Word. Look forward to reading your posts and would invite you over to my blog at:
    http://dianegates.wordpress.com/
    Moving the Ancient Boundaries

Let me know what you think.

