A TEEN’S ACCEPTANCE

As David approached King Saul he noticed Saul’s gaze was fixed on Goliath’s head that David carried.

David glanced down. Goliath’s eyes were wide open, as was his mouth which nearly touched the ground.

Saul shook his head as he looked into David’s eyes. “…outstanding, simply outstanding! Who is your father, David?”

David stood tall. “I am the youngest son of your servant Jesse from Bethlehem.”

Saul looked at Abner. “See to it that Jesse’s family is stricken from the tax records. And inform him that his youngest son won’t be coming home.”

Saul smiled as he looked back at David. “He’s now a member of the Lord’s army from this day on.”

David smiled when Saul shook his hand so hard David thought his head might fall off.

Saul and Abner walked away. David was surprised to see Saul’s son Jonathan approaching with a smile.

Jonathan looked into David’s eyes as he shook his hand. “That is the most impressive display of courage I will ever witness in my life. I was trying to figure out how to get passed  Goliath’s armor bearer myself. I would never have thought of a slingshot. How did you ever come up with that?”

David held up his right arm. The half sling dangled from his wrist. He shrugged. “It’s all I had.”

Jonathan untied his belt. “You won’t be needing that toy any longer. Here’s my sword.”

David watched Jonathon tie the belt around his waist. “But, that’s the prince’s sword. What will you fight with?”

Jonathan stepped back. “Don’t worry about me. I have many swords to choose from thanks to you.”

David smiled. “I have one request. Let Joab keep his sword. I think he’s quite fond of it.”

Jonathan bowed his head. “As you say. So it is.”

David watched Jonathan quietly remove his bow and quiver and lean them against his armor bearer. Then, he draped his robe over the armor bearer’s arm.

Jonathan approached David after removing his tunic. “Set that head down so I can give you something else, David.”

David’s mouth hung open as Jonathan placed the Prince’s tunic on him. “But…”

Jonathan turned and grabbed the robe and set that on David.

David protested, “you’re the rightful heir to the throne. Why are you doing this?”

Jonathan bowed to one knee. “I relinquish all my rights to the throne to you, David. You are clearly God’s anointed to lead His people.”

The group of men standing around broke out in applause as they watched Jonathan give David his bow and quiver.

###

How does God go about making a shepherd boy into a king? Step 6: He has the heir to the throne give him all the vestiges of the prince to him to see how well they fit.

Do you remember what happened when Saul tried to give David his armor? They didn’t fit. Why? Because, David wasn’t ready for that position at this time.

Now that Jonathan gives David his clothes and weapons we see a completely different outcome. These fit David to a tee. He’s ready to think of himself as the heir to the throne, as are those around him.

God’s perfect timing is on display for all to see in this exchange. The people would have probably made David their king at this time, but, David knew that God’s anointed was already on the throne. He was pleased to wait until God removed Saul before he took his place.

Here we are back in God’s waiting room. I lift my head up from my keyboard and give you a wave across the room. I met with another agent two days ago. Nope, I’m still waiting.

I know God gave me this writing to touch people. I have an Advent devotional book based on some of these blog posts I know will change a lot of perceptions about the people in the Bible story of Jesus’ birth and how God is waiting to use us, too.

I have another book about two mice who learn the true meaning as to why we still celebrate Jesus’ birthday like we do. There’s also an adult contemporary book about how a wealthy businessman comes to Christ by reading the children’s book. All still on hold while my writing improves and I become more prepared for the life change that will occur when they take on their own life.

I’m planning on attending the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference in a couple of weeks. There will be lots of agents and editors in attendance. I’ll see if God has any divine appointments for me there. Yes, your prayers are very much appreciated. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

So, what are you waiting on? I know there’s something you’d like to see accomplished. I hope you feel you can share it here in the comments. I’d love to pray for you, too.

I know some of my writer friends have books that are at the agent stage still looking for a publisher. There’s bound to be health issues you’d like healing for. No, I’m not promising you I can get God to heal you. All I can do is bring your request to the Throne of Grace and ask God for His mercy on your behalf. Sharing your load is what this is all about.

You see, all of these concerns are lessons from God to develop us into the people He wants us to be. According to Romans 8:29 the goal for our lives should be to become as much like Jesus Christ as we can be. That’s the good spoken of in verse twenty-eight.

Jonathan was sure David was the next king of Israel. Neither man was ready to depose the current king from his position God placed him in. They waited on God’s timing for the proper exchange to take place. And it did in God’s timing.

Let’s hold each other up in God’s waiting room brothers and sisters.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A TEEN’S ACCEPTANCE

  1. Ian says:

    Great message, Wade.

  2. Richard Ryan says:

    Hi Again Wade, Enjoyed meeting you at the conference and hope it opened the doors for you. I published a free book on my blog. It is more of a Bible study than anything. In the course of looking at your blog posts it appears we started blogging about the same time. Yours is much more Bible focused than mine, though I am leaning that way. Mine covers a variety of issues and topics.

    • Wade Webster says:

      I had no idea what I’d blog about when I started this adventure. I eventually found my voice when I went through the Christmas story one character at a time. Now I change themes and continue with a devotional message. I gain as much from it as anybody.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Richard.

Let me know what you think.

