A TEEN’S SURVIVAL

Jonathan looked David squarely in the eyes. “My father is on a mission to see you dead, David.”

David stepped back. “Why? What have I ever done to him?”

Jonathan firmly grasped David’s upper arms. “You’ve done nothing wrong. My father is the one in the wrong here. I’ll speak to him. We’ll make this right. He needs you more than he knows.”

David nodded. “I’m glad you’re on my side in this.”

Jonathan stepped back. “Hide near this field tonight. I’ll bring King Saul out here to discuss this mix-up. I’ll let you know how it goes. I’m sure I can convince him he’s wrong here.”

###

David stationed himself behind a clump of trees as Jonathan and Saul stood at the edge of the field. He watched their conversation tensely between the trees.

Jonathan turned his father to face him eye-to-eye. “Abba, why are you so bent on destroying David? He’s done absolutely nothing evil to you. He hasn’t even said anything bad about you. As a matter of fact he’s the one who slayed Goliath and brought us a great victory, which he continues to do to this day. I don’t want to see you commit such an evil thing against innocent blood. Can you, please, put your anger aside and do what is right?”

Saul’s head dropped forward for a few seconds. Then, he looked back at Jonathan. “As the Lord lives you are right. I’m sorry. David will live because of your words here.”

Saul’s entourage followed him back to the palace. David came out and embraced Jonathan. They returned to life in the palace, also.

###

A few days later David is called in to play music for Saul’s depression. The sight of a spear near Saul made David cringe.

He leaned the harp on his shoulder and played to the King. The vibrations of the instrument soaked into his soul as the memories of the battles faded.

His eyes opened as he heard Saul stand suddenly. Before Saul could pick the spear up David stood the harp upright. He dove for the door as the spear sank into the wall near the harp. Saul’s rants echoed as David fled the palace.

###

David entered his quiet house and paced about to ease his nerves. A heaviness pulled him to the bed for a nap. He awoke to clattering dishes in the kitchen. The smell of Michal’s stew brought a smile to his face.

She spun around when David stood. “There are men outside waiting to take your life. You must eat a full meal. Then, after it’s good and dark you’ll have to sneak out the back.”

David pulled the curtain back a crack to see the men. “Who sent them?”

“Abba.” Michal hugged David tightly.

David pushed her back and looked in her eyes. “Why? What have I done to deserve this?”

She shook her head. “You’ve done nothing wrong.” Michal stepped into the kitchen and filled a bowl with stew. “Abba’s a changed man since God’s Spirit left him. Haunted is the only word I can come up with to describe him now. You’ll be a much better king than he, but not if you’re dead. I’ll cover for you as long as I can. Promise me you’ll run and not look back.”

David hugged her. “When will this nightmare end?”

###

How does God go about making a shepherd boy into a king? Step 9: He has the king’s children aid him to save his life from the present king.

I find it interesting that the two people in 1 Samuel 19 who go out of their way to make sure King Saul doesn’t kill David are Saul’s own children. It’s so good of God to reinforce the fact that David has done nothing wrong to deserve death to the extent that the people with the most to lose by David becoming the next king do the work of saving him.

If that didn’t give David solace that he was in the right I don’t know what would.

Have you ever held to a conviction so strongly you’d stand up to the authority in the wrong?

Don’t get me wrong here. I’m not abdicating questioning authority on all counts. The Bible repeatedly gives us council to obey the government positioned over us because God is the One who established their power.

But, there are times when that power is taken to an extreme to the detriment of someone. That’s usually someone who can’t speak for themselves. Yes, I’m thinking about aborting unborn people as exhibit A.

I have no idea why God has allowed that legalized murder to continue as long as it has. I don’t know about you, but, I’m outraged at this senseless killing of infants just because they’re considered an inconvenience to someone.

I think if the schools would concentrate their efforts on passing along the notion of taking responsibility for our actions there would be many fewer unplanned pregnancies to begin with.

I’m glad there’s a movement afoot to give these young women alternatives to abortion. Shelters that give these moms a place to live while these precious lives develop inside them so they can be adopted into families who’ll help them discover their God-given destinies are a tremendous way to stem the tide of murder of the voiceless.

Until the laws can be changed so this atrocity can be stopped we need to help these organizations as much as we can. Please, give of your time, money and talents to aid those who help the helpless.

You never know but one of these precious lives being saved could turn out to be a great musician, mighty warrior, and/or a phenomenal ruler; just like King David became after Saul’s own children stood up to him when he was wrong.

I’m confident if we can change the abortion laws we’ll begin to see a new sense of empowerment for all the weak and meek in our world.

That will be better for all of us.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A TEEN’S SURVIVAL

  1. Richard Ryan says:

    Hi Wade, Enjoyed your blog and will definitely be reading more. Just posted some pictures from the writer’s conference on my Facebook page Ric”The Turtle”Ryan. They are in an album, most are from the meal hall. Keep on trucking, Hopefully our paths will cross again. My life verse is Proverbs 3:5-6, but in my trucking days I tried to live by John 3:8

  2. Richard Ryan says:

    When you read Leviticus 20:1-5 and what God commands for sacrificing chidren, it is not hard to see why this nation is sliding away from God. The question is have we slid so far we can’t be turned. The Bible in the New Testament says God will give man over to a reprobate spirit. In my view this nation has already crossed that line. Of course others hold different views.

    • Wade Webster says:

      Fortunately we serve a God of grace. He will renew His grace and forgive us if we repent and turn from our wicked ways. Let’s do all we can to get the right people in office to turn this ship around. I still believe we’re a great nation.

  3. Richard Ryan says:

    Hi Again, Thanks for the quick replies. I am a writer, therefore I write. I do not expect a reply each time I send something but if we are in agreement on things I like to know that. I agree it is by God’s Grace and Mercy that we have any hope at all.. I also agree we are a great and very blessed nation. We need to focus on bringing about a revival and turn the hearts of the people back to God. Unfortunately/ Fortunately God is still also a God of judgment. Going against His Word still carries a price. We need to convince people the price is real and they do not want to pay it. Especially when they can have his love, which is freely given…Later Lord Willing.

Let me know what you think.

