A TEEN’S SECLUSION

David rested his left hand on the hilt of Goliath’s sword as he trudged along.

“Where can I go Lord? King Saul is relentless. He followed me to Samuel. I know Doeg will tell him I was with Ahimelech at the tabernacle. I admit, it was stupid of me to turn to the Philistines. I’m sorry. Where do You want me to go now?”

He noticed a cave in the next mountainside. He climbed up and settled in. A sense of peace rested on him.

As the recent events in Gath floated through his head David composed what would become the 56th Psalm.

When night came David enjoyed sweet sleep. In the morning he was inspired to put the future 34th Psalm together.

“Oh, taste to see the goodness of the Lord, the man who trusts Him is truly blessed.

“The Lord is close to His own with broken hearts, He saves those with contrite spirits.

“No one who trusts in Him will be condemned.”

“David is that you?”

David’s head snapped up. “Abba, how did you find me?”

He ran to the entrance of the cave and found his entire family. “Why are you all here?”

His oldest brother, Eliab, placed a hand on David’s shoulder. “The king is running scared right now. He knows God anointed you to be his replacement. He’ll stop at nothing to see that doesn’t happen. We witnessed your anointing. We know the safest place for us is with the Lord’s future king. You’re not in this alone. We’re here for you.”

David embraced his brother, then he hugged his parents and every member of his immediate family.

David motioned into the cave. “Come, I haven’t found the back of this cave, so, there’s plenty of room for all of us. I’m sorry I dragged you all into this.”

Jesse walked up to him. “This is the Lord’s doing, David. You will make a great king.”

Soon, others showed up. A poor family who owed more than they could repay, a man with a twisted hand from an accident, a few people who felt fear for their lives all joined David.

A chill went up David’s spine when he saw a man dressed in linen wearing the ephod approach. He willed his feet to take him to Ahimelech’s son.

Abiathar bowed to David. “King Saul had Doeg kill all the Lord’s priests. I, alone, have escaped.”

David tore his clothes as he fell to his knees and wept. “I knew when I saw Doeg at Nob this would be bad. I had no idea it would come to this. I’m sorry, Abiathar. I wish I could change this. Stay with us. The man who wants to end your life wants mine also. You’ll be safe here.”

A short time later the prophet Gad came up to David. “Don’t remain in this cave, David. Go to the land of Judah.”

David stood tall. “But, we can easily defend the entrance of the cave, and it fits a city full of people in it.”

Eliab stood next to him. “He’s right, David. If we’re overpowered there’s no escape from here. Everyone will be annihilated.”

David looked at the people mulling about and thought of the heavy responsibility he held. “Very well, prepare everyone to go to the forest of Hereth. We’ll establish ourselves there.”

###

How does God make a shepherd boy into a king? Step 14: He gives him responsibility over a group of people.

I find this scene very intriguing. Here’s David after all of his options to survive have failed. He chooses a cave to hunker down in. He spends time alone with God.

Before he comes up with the answers to all his questions people show up. First, it’s his immediate family. They knew this madman Saul had them in his sights as possible adversaries. They ran to the Lord’s anointed for protection.

Then, the misfits of society tag along. They longed for a strong leader to guide them. They found it in David.

This reminds me of another group of people who came together to follow a mighty leader. Except, they were chosen by the leader.

An outcast tax collector was thrown together with some washed-up fishermen and various unknowns to become Jesus’ disciples. What a difference they ended up making.

Whenever I think about this I’m comforted. If Jesus uses those types of people I know He can use me, because I fit into that category. I’m pretty sure you feel like a nobody, too.

I’m just a nobody truck driver with no writing education giving my best effort to Jesus for His glory. I’m so surprised by some of what I write that I feel like I get the distinct privilege of being the first person to read what God is working through me.

That’s not meant to be a statement of pride. That’s just my amazement of how God is using me in this writing journey.

Back to David’s predicament, I notice this all started with David coming to the end of his own resources. After trying all he knows to escape the clutches of the madman Saul he succumbs to the solitude of a cave.

He spends an unknown amount of time alone with God. Valuable time used by God to reinforce where David needs to turn for guidance and strength.

Only after God knows he’s ready to lead do the people come. Not the cream of the crop, but followers in search of a leader. If you’d been in gym class picking sides for dodgeball these would have been the last ones chosen.

Out of this group came some men who would become known as David’s mighty men. I’d say they found the right leader for them.

They found the man whom God chose to lead the nation someday, but, at this time he was only ready to lead a group of people.

God was merely cultivating His king by this turn of events.

What’s He cultivating you for?

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A TEEN’S SECLUSION

  1. Walter Mathis says:

    Just to let you know I enjoy your writing and was wondering if you have put them in book form, yet.

    • Wade Webster says:

      Thank you Walter.
      No, I don’t have these posts in a book at this time. I’m currently in the process of seeking an agent to take these posts to a publisher to put them in a series of books beginning with the Christmas story. Please pray for God’s timing for this to happen. I’m sure many people will enjoy and grow from these books.

Let me know what you think.

