A KING’S REQUEST

Solomon wasn’t sure if it was the weight of his royal robes or the duties he was handed that made the walk up to Gibeon so difficult.

Most from his retinue left before the assigned one thousand animals had been sacrificed to the Lord. Solomon felt compelled to remain fixed until the completion of the task at hand.

Nathan stood next to the king. “Your father would be proud of you for doing this Solomon.”

Solomon smiled at the prophet. “I sure do miss him. I know how important the Lord was to him. I want to take his example and live it out to the best of my ability. He sure has left an enormous legacy. I hope I don’t ruin it in my lifetime.”

Nathan placed a hand on Solomon’s shoulder. “Leading God’s chosen people has to be the biggest responsibility any man can carry. I don’t envy you your position.”

Solomon swallowed hard. “Thank you. It is the most awesome responsibility anyone can carry. How can anyone do it right? Especially someone so young. Why me, Nathan? Shouldn’t this have been handed to someone with more experience in governmental matters?”

Nathan stood in front of Solomon and placed both hands on his shoulders. “God knows what He’s doing here. He chose you to lead His people at this time because He made you the best person to lead His people at this time. He’ll give you what you need when you need it. Remember that and you’ll do a fantastic job as king.”

Solomon smiled as he turned back to watch the next ox being sacrificed.

Sleep came quickly to the third king of Israel that night.

As he slept a voice spoke to him. “Ask of me whatever you desire, Solomon.”

“You have shown tremendous kindness to my father, David. After establishing his dynasty because of his dedication to You I have been placed on the throne after him. I feel like a child right now, unable to live up to his high standard, or Yours. Please grant me a wise and discerning heart to govern Your people well. That’s the one thing I need at this time.”

“You have chosen well, My son. You could have asked for great wealth, or peace throughout your lifetime, or a long life and I would have given them to you. Instead you asked for a discerning and wise heart. I’ll answer your request for wisdom and grant you wealth and peace and honor, also. There won’t be your equal among kings. If you continue in the ways of your father David to follow in My ways during your life I will also give you a long life.”

Solomon’s eyes opened as an unexplained peace flooded his entire being.

###

Solomon, the second son born to Bathsheba by David. Even though he had older brothers Solomon was the one hand-chosen by David as the one who would be the next king of Israel. Actually God chose him, David merely made sure that matter was settled before he died. They both ruled for a time.

Solomon was likely still a teenager when that event took place. He may have been in his twenties when God first appeared to him in a dream, but, the lesson is an important one I think teens need to heed.

He’s credited as being the author of three wisdom books in the Bible. The Song of Solomon was probably written in his younger days as king. Love would be more of a focus for him then. He would take it to an extreme later in his life and let that become his undoing.

Ecclesiastes was likely written in his elder years. After he tried every conceivable thing to find contentment, happiness, and peace. He came to the conclusion that following God is the best path for one’s life.

Much of the book of Proverbs was conceived by Solomon. The opening chapters are definitely his. He opens that book as a letter to his son. His intent is to show the difference between someone who follows after folly and one who trusts truth. Of course truth is shown as the best way to live. Too bad he didn’t learn from his own teaching.

There’s an important distinction we need to keep in mind. Knowledge is not the same thing as wisdom. Knowledge is the accumulation of facts. How many super-educated people have you met who are of no practical use to anybody? I’ve met some.

Wisdom is the ability to put feet to those facts so they become useful to us. Anybody can learn how a clock works. Learning how to use those minutes to their fullest takes another level of application.

Seek to become wise in this life and you will have a following. People yearn for someone to guide them. Just look at the fans any popular singer or actor has. People want to follow somebody.

Many long to be led well. When they tire of chasing empty dreams and fantasies they gravitate to people with substance about them. Wise people rise to the head of the crowd.

This world has little to offer of lasting value. The passion of sex is gone in minutes, as is the escape of drugs and liquor. Wealth can be lost by a simple mistake.

Sooner or later people realize they’ve missed the important things in life. Folly has been their companion far too long so they come to those who bring them truth. Real lasting wise counsel is what they desire.

You’re probably wondering where they can find real truth, especially if you’re in that crowd. I know of only one place to discover real truth: The Bible.

It’s considered by the wisest people I know to be a book that was inspired by the Creator of the universe to be our guidebook to live by. It gives us the ultimate story of the ultimate sacrifice to bring us back into the ultimate relationship with God.

Follow me into its wise pages.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

