A PROPHET’S CALLING

Jeremiah stood. He wasn’t sure if he was awake or if this was a dream, but this was definitely real.

Before him stood a man. Without an introduction Jeremiah knew who this man was: this was the LORD Himself.

Jesus began the conversation. “I knew you before you were even conceived. You have been set apart as my spokesman to My people. You are ordained as a prophet to the nations.”

Jeremiah’s knees felt weak. “But, I…ah, I’m no orator. Nobody will listen to me. I’m too young.”

Jesus stepped forward. “Don’t worry about your age or anything else. I’ll send you to whom I send you. You’ll say what I want you to say. Don’t be afraid of them. I’ll be your protection.”

Jesus’ hand came up. His finger touched Jeremiah’s lips. “My words are now in your mouth. You will present My messages of judgement to nations and kingdoms.”

Jesus faded away and a tree branch was all Jeremiah saw. Jesus’ voice was clear. “What do you see?”

“I see an almond branch.”

“You see correctly. I’ll now send My word to you. What do you see, now?”

Jeremiah expected to feel the heat, but didn’t. “I see a boiling pot facing south.”

“I’m sending many kings from the north to set up their thrones at Jerusalem’s gates because My people have burned incense to other gods. Now rise and prepare yourself. I’ll establish you as a fortified city that can’t be overcome. You’ll be against Judah’s kings and princes and priests and people. You will speak to them, but they won’t listen to you.”

Jeremiah stood alone.

###

Many years later Jeremiah picked up his stylus to record the LORD’s words and found himself recording his personal thoughts.

You called me to this ministry as a prophet. How could I say no to You, dear LORD?

Everyone is against me. They plot my ruin. They’re waiting for me to fail so they can pounce on me in my weakness.

I tried to remain silent. My efforts to keep quiet were worse than the message I had to give. It was like a fire inside me that had to come out. Your words were sweet going in, but hold a bitter taste coming out. I must do as You say. Your word must go out!

You have protected me from my enemies. Let me see their ruin, sovereign Lord. 

Sing praise to the LORD. He is mighty!

Why did You allow me to be born? My task is too hard. How long must I bear it?  Why didn’t my mother die while I was still in her womb? I could have been spared this agony of giving Your message to the lost who don’t heed me cries.

###

You’re probably wondering why I jumped from having Jeremiah praising God to having him curse the day of his birth. Read Jeremiah 20:7-18 and see for yourself. That’s the way it’s recorded in the Bible.

Jeremiah had a hard life to live. God chose him to proclaim the news of His judgement to His chosen people. They willfully chose to follow after other gods, so God had no choice but to punish them. Somebody had to be the one to explain what was happening, or, what was going to happen so they’d know it was from God Himself.

God didn’t exactly paint a very rosy picture to Jeremiah about this life he had to live. “You’ll proclaim My punishment, but, nobody will listen to a word you say. Oh, and you don’t really have a choice in the matter.”

Jeremiah counters with the only excuse he can muster. “Nobody’s going to listen to a kid.”

God, as the pre-incarnate Jesus, touches his mouth as a sign of placing His words in Jeremiah. The stress of trying not to speak God’s words is too much for Jeremiah to bear.

So, what about you? Have you experienced that “fire in the bones” feeling Jeremiah had?

Have you felt the pull to step in when you saw something wrong being done? Or, did you do what you could to help someone in pain even though it cost you something great?

God has called each of His chosen children to tell others about His magnificent sacrifice He made for them. It’s up to them what they do with that information. We need to tell them now. They may not act on it until after we’re raptured off of this planet, but, the seeds we plant before then may be what turns their hearts to Jesus after all.

Five years ago I began this writing adventure by God’s direct call. Now, I can’t not write. It seems to be part of my DNA. It’s who I am now.

These blogs are a labor of love. I love bringing the Bible to life in a fresh way and giving thought to what they say to me and us. I have people subscribe to them who are searching for truth. Since the Bible is the only source of truth I know they’ll find it here.

Some have unsubscribed. I can’t control that. It’s their choice. If they don’t want to listen to God’s truth they’re free to not hear it. But, that won’t stop me from sending it out. This is what I’m called to do.

So, what has God equipped you to do? What unique thing has He designed you to perform? What gives you a sense of purpose and fulfillment?

I know there’s something. Like Jeremiah, God knew you before you were conceived. He designed you for a task only you can meet.

That doesn’t mean it’ll be easy, but, you’ll feel God’s pleasure while you perform your calling.

You may be in the midst of bringing up the next generation of children God has entrusted to you. That is one of the most challenging and potentially rewarding assignments of all. Don’t neglect it. Give it all you’ve got for God’s glory.

Those children will reach more people than you can alone.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

