A TEEN’S ACTIONS

Daniel opened the door to see what the commotion outside was.

General Arioch was rounding all of the captives together.

Daniel walked up to him. “Why are you getting us all together in such a hurry. What’s the emergency?”

Arioch looked at Daniel and breathed deeply. “I’m following orders directly from the king. He had a dream that woke him up. Now he wants the wisemen to tell him his dream and its interpretation. Since none of them could do such an impossible task he decreed that all the wisemen be killed.”

Daniel looked deep into Arioch’s eyes. “Take me to Nebuchadnezzar now! My God can tell me what he wants to know, but I need some time to ask for this from God.”

Arioch turned and raised his hand. “Belay the order. No one is to leave these premises without my permission.” He grabbed Daniel’s arm. “Come with me.”

Nebuchadnezzar was pacing when Daniel entered the throneroom.

Arioch pushed his hand into Daniel’s chest to stop his further motion. He walked to the king and bowed. “Your Majesty, I have one of the captives from Judah who says he can tell you what you want to know.”

Nebuchadnezzar sat on his throne and motioned for Daniel to approach. “You are a fine-looking specimen, indeed. Can you truly tell me my dream and what it means?”

Daniel bowed. “My God is the One who gives dreams. I can ask Him to give me your dream and tell me its meaning. But, I need some time to approach Him and request this of him.”

Nebuchadnezzar saw an earnestness in Daniel’s eyes that was lacking in the other wisemen. “What is your name?”

“My given name is Daniel.”

Arioch stepped forward. “We have named him Belteshazzar.”

Nebuchadnezzar leaned back. “Very well. Stop the executions for one day. You have until tomorrow at this time to tell me what I need to know.”

###

Daniel sat on the edge of his bed when he came into the dorm room. Hananiah sat on his right, Mishael on his left.

Azariah pulled up a chair in front of Daniel. “So, what’s going on? They say we’re all going to die soon.”

Daniel looked each of them in the eyes. “We will if we don’t do something about it.”

Mishael stood. “What do we have to do? I’ll fight whoever I have to.”

Daniel shook his head. “This isn’t a physical fight this time. We need to pray to God to give us Nebuchadnezzar’s dream and its interpretation.”

Hananiah grabbed Daniel’s arm. “But, nothing like that has ever been done before. Are you sure about this?”

Daniel nodded. “Nebuchadnezzar had a dream that has him upset. He either forgot the dream, or he wants to truly test his “wisemen” to see if they’re legit. I know our God is the only One who can do this. Are you guys with me on this?”

His three friends were on their knees without saying a word. Daniel joined them as they all prayed until exhaustion sent them to their beds.

Daniel awoke with a stream of praise pouring from his mouth.

###

There God goes again, putting His people in an impossible situation and coming through for them in a dramatic way. These teenagers were definitely learning to trust in Him for their impossible lives they were living.

The lesson that jumps out at me here is the fact that they needed to take action to save themselves and others. Hesitation would have meant a certain death.

Daniel took his life in his hands by requesting to see the king unannounced. Not that he had anything to lose. He was about to be executed anyway.

After he got the stay of execution he gathered his friends together to hold a prayer vigil. This meeting was vital to getting the results they needed. I don’t totally understand how prayer works, but I do know God expects us to come to Him in earnestness. Their petitions before THE throne were heard and acted upon.

After Daniel was given the dream and its interpretation his first response was that of praising God. This was just a direct response to a direct answer to prayer. Let’s follow Daniel’s lead here.

His first prayers were also an act of praise. He praised God by acknowledging Him as the supremely powerful One capable of answering his prayers.

The last thing Daniel needed to do was give God’s message to its original recipient. I’m sure there was more of a boldness to Daniel’s step as he came into Nebuchadnezzar’s throneroom this time. God’s truth has a way of straightening one’s spine.

The results can be read in Daniel chapter 2. Daniel was made the ruler over the province of Babylon. He pulled for his friends to also be brought into positions of leadership.

So, what impossible situation do you find yourself in today?

Are you tired of fighting for the answer on your own strength?

Do you believe God can answer your prayers about this circumstance?

Praise God by acknowledging His sovereignty over your life. Bring your requests to Him today. He has the answers you need. He’ll help you see them in His time.

He may not change the situation you’re in, but, He may change your attitude in that situation. This may be a lesson you need to learn to live with. Even if it feels unbearable you can glorify God by taking your journey one step at a time in His strength.

Next time don’t wait until you come to the end of your rope before you ask for God’s loving hand to hold you. He wants you to come to Him as the first response to your life’s dilemmas.

John 10:28-29 tells us that Jesus and God each have us in the palm of Their hands.

So, you see, we’re already being held up by them. All we need to do is give them the glory by resting in this promise.

Feel Their warmth surround you today.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

