A GIRL’S ACCEPTANCE

“Do you think we’ll see Messiah in our life, Abba?” The voice came from Mary’s little brother, but, the words came from her heart.

“It could happen, Sol. There are rumors of an angel sighting in Jerusalem, but, it’s been more than four centuries since Yahweh has spoken to us, His people. The last time I was in Jerusalem I over-heard Ole Simeon tell some men he wouldn’t die before he saw the Lord’s anointed. As old as he is I would say it should happen any day now.” The father let out a boisterous laugh.

The voices and laughter from outside caught Sol’s attention. “May I go play now, Abba?”

“Yes, my son. Today’s lesson is complete. You may go.” He patted the boy on the head before Sol ran out.

Mary stared at her father, so he asked, “What is it, Mary? I know you have something on your heart. You always do.”

“Do you think Messiah will see us? Will He talk to us?”

“Oh, Mary, you have so much to learn. Messiah will be very busy defeating the Romans, then, setting up His kingdom. The bulk of His time will be spent in Jerusalem. I very much doubt He’ll have any business in Nazareth.”

Mary stared out the window. “I think Messiah will be a much better king if He loves His people enough to want to know them; and want them to know Him.”

“That sounds so like my Mary, always the dreamer. Don’t you have some place to be today?”

She looked at her father. “Yes, Jacobed promised me one of her fine blankets if I clean her house while she’s gone to buy more wool. I should be going.”

Mary gathered a few things before she left.

###

After Mary finished cleaning the kitchen she paused for a drink. She sat and envisioned the Messiah. She could see His strong hands picking children up to share a moment with them. Perhaps she would get a hug across her shoulders. She quickly realized the man in her mind was none other than her Joseph. Oh, the future that would soon be theirs.

She sent up a prayer. “Could You speed up the time, please?”

The sudden shadow jolted her to the present. She kept looking up until she found the eyes of the one who would give her the news that would change the course of history.

Her mind was racing. I’m a poor girl who grew up in a one room house. I know it takes the act of a man to begin a pregnancy. “How can this be?”

“The Spirit of God will overshadow you…”

I’ve heard of the Spirit filling others in the past. I never imagined it could happen to me.

Her mouth spoke her heart. “Let it be done to me as you have said.”

When Gabriel left she knew she had to quickly finish her task and make plans to visit Elizabeth as soon as possible.

###

Mary, too much is made of her by some, not enough by others; this simple peasant girl from the out-of-the-way town of Nazareth; the person chosen by God to be the one whose egg would begin the incarnation of the Savior of the world. That egg would be the human side of this unique God-man.

The Biblical account doesn’t give us a hint that Mary had a choice in this matter of being the mother of the Messiah.

She was naturally shocked by Gabriel’s sudden appearing. Who wouldn’t be?

Her question to him was a legitimate one: “How can this be since I haven’t had sex with a man?”

Once the angel confirmed to her that the word “impossible” isn’t in God’s vocabulary she accepted without hesitation.

How could a teenage girl do such a thing so quickly? It has to be because of her upbringing.

Nazareth was established as an outpost community by families concerned about the spiritual shifting they saw near Jerusalem. An out-of-the-way town gave them a better place to rear their children with a more pure teaching of God’s Word.

Mary would have benefited from this teaching, as would Joseph.

Pure Bible teaching is getting much harder to find in our own society. When you do locate a church that uses God’s Word as the basis for their teaching support them with all you’ve got. It’s the truth we all hunger and thirst for. We need it and so do our neighbors.

Children fed a steady diet of God’s truth will be much more likely to recognize and follow God’s leading in their lives. Isn’t that the hope of every Christian parent?

I don’t think Gabriel found a girl with a blank slate when he approached Mary. She recognized the description of the long-promised Messiah when he spoke to her. Her chance to play such a vital role in this event would be such an honor from God. Why wouldn’t she succumb to His request?

She didn’t have time to weigh the pro’s and con’s of this life-changing decision. She simply jumped at the chance.

I’m not saying we should never do that, but, there are times when we need to go in the direction that makes the least amount of sense when we feel God is behind it. That’s the way He increases our faith, by coming through for us in an impossible situation.

Remember, the word “Impossible” isn’t in God’s vocabulary.

Mary’s life was definitely more complicated and isolating because of this strange pregnancy. I mean, who would believe her? How would she cope without Joseph if he didn’t?

They were obviously shunned by their families. Why else would they bring the Messiah into the world in an unsanitary stable?

You see, God doesn’t promise prosperity for those who follow Him and do His will. He simply promises to be there with us through it all. My Bible is full of promises of suffering as my Savior did.

So, are you still willing to step into God’s purpose for your life?

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Christmas, Devotional, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

