GOD’S VIEW OF SENIOR CITIZENS

As I embark on another series of devotional blog posts I want to share some thoughts on the subject of our next trip through the Bible.

Senior citizens are an important part of every society. So, it shouldn’t come as a surprise to us that God includes their life stories throughout the Bible. Some of these folks are familiar to us because we’ve watched them grow, or not, in their walk with God. Others only come into focus as we near the end of their lives.

Whether we see only one chapter of their life, or several, seniors have a great deal to teach us no matter what age we find ourselves in. We can learn not to repeat their mistakes and gain from watching them win some successes.

I’ve always been drawn to the elder members of society I come in contact with. It all started with listening to my grandfather retelling his stories through my childhood. It continues as I stop to listen to octogenarians in my adult fellowship at church on Sunday mornings. They so long for a patient listening ear.

The gold in their stories is so rich for the taking. I hope you take more time to give them your attention. You’ll be much wealthier because you did.

God obviously doesn’t throw people away just because they reach a certain age. No, on the contrary, He likes to wait until some people think they’re washed up before He steps in and taps them for an important assignment.

Do you realize Abram was 75 when he first heard from God? With as much of his story that’s recorded you’d think his walk with God began at a much earlier age, but it didn’t.

Moses was 80 when God spoke to him in a burning bush. The next 40 years of his life were his most productive.

Joshua was at least 80 when he took over from Moses and led God’s people into the promised land. His peer Caleb was still strong enough to demand the toughest people and land to conquer be given to him and his family.

King David’s life ended with his desire to build God’s temple being passed down to Solomon. He made sure his son had all the material needed and the architectural drawings in hand.

Do you remember that Daniel was in his 80’s when they threw him in the lion’s den? J. Vernon McGee said the lion’s didn’t want to eat him because he was 75% backbone and one-quarter grizzle by then. Daniel was even older when he received some remarkable prophesies from God.

The Apostle John was likely in his 90’s when he wrote what he saw in his visions. We now call them the book of Revelation.

So, you see, your age is just a number to God. If He has a plan for you He’s as likely to tell you when you’re in your youth as He is when you’re older. I hope you’re still looking for His leading for you.

I received my call to write at the age of 47. That was five years ago. I haven’t even hit my stride, yet. I can’t wait to see what the next 50 years will bring.

I know a lot of writers don’t pursue this course until after they turn 50. It’s after the kids have moved out and they realize they have so much more to give that they follow this path of creativity. Yeah, you can still teach old dogs new tricks.

The concept of retirement is a fairly modern phenomenon. You know, work your fingers to the bone until you reach a benchmark age and then live a life of leisure until you die.

Many homes were built around family structure for centuries. Think back to the Walton’s TV program. The grandparents were such an integral part of the third generation’s lives it was totally natural to include their wisdom when they made decisions.

Modern life doesn’t even ensure both parents will be around for a child’s rearing ages. It doesn’t surprise me that our society is in such turmoil.

I don’t see us getting back to the basics of life in my lifetime. That doesn’t mean I’m not going to pray for it to happen.

My hope is to challenge each of us to keep grasping for one more jewel in the crown we’ll lay at the feet of Jesus one day.

To the elder generation I hope you pour part of yourself into a younger life. Mentoring is so vital in developing this generation who grew up being taught to question authority, push for their rights, and blame others for their shortcomings.

Ground us in what is truly important. Tell us over and over about the loves you lost because of mistakes you made. What lessons did you learn from the money ventures that went south? Try to keep our feet on the straight and narrow road.

To the younger generation I ask that you give your attention to the gray heads in your life. Your one life is too short for you to repeat the mistakes that those who’ve gone before you have committed. Listen to them as they tell you what lessons they wish somebody had told them when they were much younger.

This will likely mean you’ll have to slow down. That’s quite alright. Being still is a Biblical concept that today’s technology has made “obsolete” before its time. It’ll help you see what’s truly important in life before you lose it all.

Get to know some seniors and let them know you. You both have lessons to teach each other. Yeah, life is always lived best on a two-way street.

Joshua had Moses; Solomon had David; Timothy had Paul as mentors to guide them along their journey of life.

It’s too bad we’ve lost this Biblical example in our technology-crazy world.

Leave your electronic gadgets at home and visit a senior citizen today. You’ll be so much better off because you did.

Lead us on seniors. Lead us on.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Senior Citizens and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GOD’S VIEW OF SENIOR CITIZENS

  1. Bette Grossb says:

    Good thoughts – it’d be nice if more people took them to heart.

Let me know what you think.

