A FATHER’S BLESSING

Isaac recognized the way the tent flap barely moved when someone entered that his wife was gracing his presence. “And how is my fairest Rebekah today?”

She paced in front of Isaac. “I don’t know how much longer I can put up with these local women Esau has married. They keep insisting that their gods are stronger than our God.  No amount of convincing will get through to them. If Jacob marries a woman from here I think I’ll go insane.”

Isaac grabbed her hand and pulled her next to him. “I was just thinking that it’s time for Jacob to find himself a wife. I think God will be pleased if he go back to your brother, Laban, to find a suitable woman to marry. Would that help you keep what’s left of your senility?”

Rebekah slapped her husband’s arm. “I’m not the one falling apart here. You’re the one who lost his eyes. I’m still in my prime, old man.” She hugged him. “It would mean the world to me if you sent him off with another blessing. It will give him strength to continue on, too.”

Isaac looked toward the tent flap. “Jacob, will you please leave the tent open when you come in?”

Rebekah stepped back. “How did you know..?”

“Just because I can’t see doesn’t mean I don’t know what’s going on here.”

Jacob fastened the flap to the side, then walked in. “You called for me, Abba?”

“My son, I’ve admired the way you’ve wisely forsaken to take a wife from the local women the way your brother has. I’m sure you’d like to have a wife of your own at your age.”

“Yes, Sir, but, I’d rather do without than to have someone who doesn’t respect my mother any better than I’ve seen from Esau’s wives.”

Isaac put his right hand on Jacob’s left shoulder. “Yes, I know how close you are to your mother. I have a mission for you to take.”

“A mission…?”

“Yes. I want you to go to your grandfather’s land of Paddan Aram. I’ve heard your Uncle Laban has some daughters. Perhaps one of them will allow your mom to keep her senility.”

Rebekah slapped his back. “I said my sanity, old man.”

“Yes, that too.”

Jacob chuckled. “Shall I go alone?”

Isaac placed his left hand on Jacob’s right shoulder. “This is a journey you must take alone, my son. May the God that promised this land to my father, Abraham, bring you back to fulfill the promise of descendants to possess this land we’re now aliens in. May God Almighty make you fruitful so you begin to bring the promise of a great nation through whom all nations will be blessed. Go in peace, My son.”

###

Finally, a proper blessing for God’s chosen son to carry out His plan of salvation. I think the nearly blind Isaac was beginning to see God’s hand in the lives of his two sons at this time.

Esau probably came in contact with the surrounding people while he was on his hunting excursions. Perhaps he got some of their daughters pregnant and was forced to marry them. That’s just a guess on my part.

In the meantime, the homebody, Jacob, was content being his mother’s favorite son. He likely saw the difference in these local women and was in no hurry to get involved with any of them. He’d rather go it alone than to have someone disrespect his mom that way.

Isaac would have to know that there was animosity between his sons after Jacob’s deceitful taking of the blessing for the first-born son. Esau, the hunter, had many tactics for bring prey down. It’s a simple step to change methods for a man.

Sending Jacob to the land of his mother’s family would give him the safety of distance and the time away would give Esau time to cool down his emotions toward his sibling.

I hope you’re seeing God’s hand behind this.

The important lesson in all this is the way Isaac gave his undivided blessing to his youngest son. After he recognized God’s hand in using Jacob to bring about God’s sovereign plan he gave a blessing Jacob could cling to during his hard times.

If there was only one thing we could change in our society to bring about change in the proper direction it would be fathers giving a blessing to their children. With this rite young men would have something to keep them with their families in a difficult time of life. Children would have something tangible to ground them as to where they came from and what was expected of them.

There’s something magical about receiving words of affirmation from the strongest member of the household to guide people into their future.

Not that I’m speaking from experience here. I never heard the words, “I’m proud of you,” from my dad. I actually got the opposite response from him once.

One day he and I were out cutting firewood when another man stopped by looking for work. He assumed I was a hired man working for my dad. Twice during that conversation my dad called me his “boy.” I was twenty years old at the time. Yeah, that stung. We were never really emotionally close, and that didn’t help the relationship.

Deep down I knew my dad was proud of me and that he loved me, but, it sure would have been nice to hear him say it at least once.

I challenge any fathers reading this to take the time to affirm your children. Let them hear you tell them you love them. Say these three word to them, “I love you.” You’ll be amazed at the change in their demeanor.

Let them know you’re proud of who they’re becoming. It could shake them out of making some dreadful mistakes in search of acceptance.

Pass this legacy on to the generation behind you and, hopefully, they’ll pass it down to the generation behind them.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Senior Citizens and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

