If This Is I AM Who Am I?

If This Is I AM Who Am I?

Joseph stood still his attention was fixed

on the Infant who laid in the manger bed.

His mind took him to the scriptures he knew

of Messiah’s kingdom to come, and yet,

he wondered how he, a worker of wood,

could play in God’s great plan of salvation.

His thoughts led him on, eternity’s song,

which allowed him to ask just one question.

If this is I AM who am I?

A mere worker of wood, who am I?

###

A shepherd saw the babe in the manger

wrapped in cloth as was told by the angel.

He pondered the sight and released his fright,

renewed by hopes that would now be fulfilled.

He wondered how he, a keeper of ewes,

was chosen by God to hear the good news.

His thoughts led him on, eternity’s song,

He needed to know the quest for one clue.

If this is I AM who am I?

A mere keeper of ewes, who am I?

###

A Wiseman came far led on by a star

in search of a boy to give his present.

His friends found the lad and gave all they had

their myrrh and frankincense was their best gift.

He wondered how he, a giver of gold,

could measure to One as God’s only Son.

His thoughts led him on, eternity’s song,

He wondered and guessed. How did he belong?

If this is I AM who am I?

A mere giver of gold, who am I?

###

I read of these folks God used, every year.

This Bible story I still love to hear.

The scenes are familiar, so is the quest.

Why did God come so humble and so dear?

I wonder how I, a mover of freight,

can be used to pass on God’s best story.

My thoughts lead me on, eternity’s song,

God told me to weave words for His glory.

If this is I AM who am I?

A mere weaver of words, who am I?

###

I hope that you, too, will hear of God’s plan

and search your own heart and please understand.

You can never reach God He is too pure.

That’s why He came down to us as a man.

Please wonder how you, a creature of dirt,

can attain to God’s presence by Jesus.

Your faith lead you on, eternity’s song,

Jesus’ blood poured for you down from the cross.

If this is I AM who am I?

 A mere creature of dirt, who am I?

Merry Christmas. I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Christmas, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

