A SURPRISE CALLING

Moses led the flock of sheep up to an opening that had plentiful grass. “This should keep you guys content for the day.”

He sat on a rock on the high end of the field. His thoughts drifted to his past.

Forty years ago I never would have guessed this is how I’d spend my life. Alone with sheep to talk to. I sure made a mess of my life back then. I truly thought I was helping at the time. I guess I deserve this.

A crackling sound behind him made Moses turn around. The sight astounded him. “I thought I was high enough that I wouldn’t see any bushes self-combust. Wait a second–that bush is on fire, but, it isn’t burning.”

He walked over to inspect this quandary.

A voice came from the fire. “Moses, Moses!”

Moses looked around, then back at the bush. “Yes, I’m here.

“Don’t come any closer. Take your sandals off because the ground you’re standing on is holy.”

Moses quickly removed his footwear.

“I am the God of your fathers Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.”

Moses fell to his knees and hid his face behind his cloak in fear.

“I have heard the cries of My people in Egypt. I am sending you to lead them out of their oppression to the land I promised to Abraham.”

Moses wanted to stand, but remained behind his cloak. “Why me? I’m just a nobody leading somebody else’s sheep.”

“I will be with you throughout this whole undertaking. You will bring My people back to this mountain.”

Moses stood, but remained behind his cloak. “What if the people ask me who sent me. What name do I give them for You?”

“I AM who I AM. Tell the Israelites ‘I AM has sent me to you.’ This is the name I shall be remembered by for every generation.

Assemble the elders of Israel and tell them the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob has seen their suffering. I will lead them to a land flowing with milk and honey. It will take many wonders for Pharaoh to let you go, but He will relent. You shall plunder the Egyptians as you leave this land.”

Moses shook all over. “Suppose the people don’t believe I spoke to You. What do I say to convince them?”

“What’s in your hand?”

Moses looked at his left hand. “My staff.”

“Drop it on the ground.”

Moses released his grip. He jumped back at the sight of a snake.

“Pick the snake up by its tail.”

Moses reached down and grabbed the snake. It turned back into his wooden staff.

“If that doesn’t convince them then put your hand in your cloak and pull it out.”

Moses obeyed to find his hand completely leprous.

“Now, do that again.”

Moses placed his hand in his cloak and pulled out his restored hand.

“If the first sign doesn’t convince them the second one might.”

Moses looked at the ground. “But, I’ve never been good at public speaking, and I’ve only been around sheep for so long I don’t know if I can work with people anymore.”

“Who made your mouth? I will give you the words to use when the time comes.”

Moses looked toward the burning bush. “Lord, please send someone else. I can’t do this.”

“I’m sending your brother Aaron out here to help you. He’s good at speaking. The two of you can work together to lead My people out of bondage. Take your staff with you to perform miraculous signs for Me.”

Moses led Jethro’s sheep back to him so he could do as God commanded him.

###

Moses’ life was anything but ordinary. His parents set him in the Nile River to see if God would save him from the order by Pharaoh to kill all Hebrew boys.

God had Pharaoh’s own daughter find the basket and raise Moses as her own. Not only was he saved, but he was reared in the lap of luxury of his day.

Once he learned of his Hebrew roots he tried to lead a revolt by killing an Egyptian. When that failed he ran to the far side of civilization and lived with a Midian priest. Jethro gave one of his daughters to Moses to keep him there.

Moses spends the next 40 years caring for Jethro’s sheep. At the age of eighty Moses doesn’t own anything beyond the clothes he’s wearing.

Then came the fateful day Moses talked to a fiery bush that didn’t burn. He quickly realized he wasn’t talking to a bush, but to the God of creation.

The slow-talking octogenarian was given a divine calling of epic proportion; lead God’s chosen race of people into the land He promised to Abraham’s descendants over five centuries earlier.

The discussion that followed is often viewed as Moses making excuses why he didn’t qualify for this role. Actually he’s pointing out obstacles he knows he’ll face along the way.

God knew nobody would feel qualified to perform such a role. That’s why He promised to be with Moses along the way, and He already had Aaron coming out to help Moses with this mission.

Are you ready to do what God calls you to do with your life?

Has He been giving you hints and yearnings already that you’ve swept under the rug?

His Word promises us that when we delight in Him he’ll give us the desires of our heart. Psalm 37:4

What desires have you been denying? No, not the selfish lusts and longings.

God’s desires will lead you to give of yourself to others, not take something from them to please you.

Is there a neighbor you need to step across uncomfortable boundaries to help out? Can God use your sacrifice of love to help them see His love reaching them through you?

I know God has plans to use you for His glory. That’s why you’re still breathing.

Pray for God to reveal those plans to you. They may not be grand.

They will glorify God.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Senior Citizens and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

