NECESSARY ASSISTANCE

After Moses saw the devastation the Amalekite raiding party caused on the outskirts of the Hebrew camp he called his aide over. “Joshua.”

Joshua walked over to him from the fallen tent he was inspecting. “Here I am.”

Moses looked at the Amalekite army on the other side of the valley. “Choose some capable men from us. I’ll stand on the hill with God’s staff. We must fight these invaders off. We’ll meet them in the morning.”

Joshua nodded. “I’ll get right on it.”

###

The following morning Aaron and Hur followed Moses up to the top of the hill. Moses lifted his rod up to signal Joshua to proceed to the battle line.

It quickly became apparent that God fought for His people as long as Moses held the staff up. His aging arms couldn’t maintain that pose for long.

Aaron looked around, then looked at Hur. “Help me roll that big stone over here.”

The men rolled the stone behind Moses so he could sit down to rest. Aaron and Hur now grabbed Moses’ hands and held them up with him so God’s people won the battle.

###

Some time later Moses was in his tent preparing for the day’s work when a familiar voice called to him. “Moses, I have your family here that you left at my place.”

Moses flipped his tent flap open to see his father-in-law, Jethro, with his wife and their two sons. The day’s activities were scrubbed so the family members could get caught up. Moses shared how God worked to set his people free and how He provided for them in the wilderness.

Jethro stood. “I can see that your God is THE God to have such power. I shall offer Him a burnt offering now to show my appreciation for bringing you back to us with His people.”

###

The following day had Moses fulfilling his duties of judging the people’s complaints. This lasted all day.

Jethro waited until this ended before he broached the subject with his son-in-law. “Why are you the only one judging these people?”

Moses sat at the table for supper. “They come to me because God speaks to me. I judge their differences so we can all get along.”

Jethro put his hand on Moses’ shoulder. “You can’t sustain this very long. There’s simply too many of them and only one of you. Choose some capable men to judge the smaller cases. Give some of them a thousand people to judge, others a hundred, some fifty and some ten. They can handle the simple cases. You can  deal with the most difficult ones. This way you’ll have enough energy to govern these people effectively for much longer.”

Moses swallowed his food and smiled. “You’re right. I can’t keep doing this. I can’t get anything else done. I’ll implement your plan tomorrow. Thank you.”

###

I find it interesting how God juxtaposes some stories in the Bible. Here we have the account of Moses needing help during a fight followed by advice on how he needs to delegate some of his responsibilities to others.

I’m pretty sure God was trying to get a point across to his appointee for this excursion.

Apparently the message got through to him since I don’t see any hesitation from Moses to implement Jethro’s advice about placing judges up throughout the camp of people. You see, you can still teach an old dog new tricks.

I see a few lessons we can all learn from here.

1) You’re never too old to give advice. Jethro would likely have been over one hundred years old at the time of this event. His counsel was given with a sincere heart not a demanding tone. He probably learned this lesson the hard way himself.

2) You’re never too old to receive advice. Moses was at least eighty when he acted on Jethro’s advice. His pride over being God’s chosen man to lead His people didn’t stand in the way of his common sense. Keep listening to others.

3) It’s never good to go a journey alone. Help comes from many sources. Moses helped Joshua fight as long as he held his staff up. Aaron and Hur helped Moses hold his hands high. The people helped Moses judge the smaller cases to ease his workload. Your help may surprise you as to its source. Take it anyway.

We don’t hear from old Jethro after he returns to Midian after he brought Moses’ wife and kids to him at Sinai. But, his advice is still shaping our lives today, especially in the USA.

I think our founding fathers used his advice to Moses when they set up our judicial system; think Supreme Court, federal courts, district courts, state courts and county courts.

It seems to be working pretty well so far. Now if we can just keep the judges judging and not legislating their personal agendas we’ll be all set. Don’t get me started.

So, who do you have in your life to help you travel your journey?

You know you can’t do it all. You’re not that indispensable. Find yourself some competent people to help you where you’re in need of help.

Yeah, I’m talking to myself as much as anybody.

Prayer support is the best place to start. There are a lot of people with a close relationship with God who are more than willing to pray for you. You just need to let them know you want it. This will also show God how serious you are about being used by Him.

What God has laid on your heart to do may not seem significant in the grand scheme of things, but God still has a plan for you. Follow His calling no matter how small it looks to others.

Bring others on board to help where you need assistance. Don’t be shy in asking for help. That’s why God set us up as a spiritual family. Each person has strengths to help others out.

Get the help you need to succeed for God.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Senior Citizens and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

