LEADERSHIP CHANGE

Moses looked at the staff he leaned on as he spoke to God’s chosen people. He remembered finding it while leading his father-in-law’s sheep in the wilderness. Oh, how God had used that same piece of wood to perform miracles over the past 40 years.

He looked back at the crowd and continued his speech. “So I lay before you a choice: follow God and His laws for a long and prosperous life in the land He swore to give your ancestors, or, chase after the gods of those living in the land you’re supposed to remove and become a victim of your decision. I beg you to choose life by abiding in God.”

He grabbed his staff with both hands to relieve the weight on his feet. “I’m 120 years old now. I can’t do what I used to do. Besides, God told me I won’t lead His people into the Land. God is the One who will go before you to win your battles and defeat your enemies. He will not ever leave you nor will He forsake you.”

Joshua came over and put an arm around Moses to steady his stance. Moses smiled. “I present to you today the man who will lead you into God’s Promised Land. Joshua has led you in many battles already. He knows to trust in God. The next few years will be challenging and difficult. Turn to God for your wisdom and guidance.”

Then he turned to Joshua. “Continue in the strength and courage of the LORD. He will go before you into the Land. You will lead this people to become a new nation as God promised Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. God will not ever leave you nor will He forsake you. Don’t let fear gain a foothold on you.”

Moses turned back to the crowd. “I dismiss you, now. Go to your families and remind them how God has provided for you these past forty years.”

Moses and Joshua went to the Tent of Meeting per God’s request. God’s cloud descended on the tent so He could inaugurate Joshua.

“Moses, the time has come for you to be gathered to your fathers. Joshua will lead My people into the Land where they will play the harlot with the gods of the people already there. I will hide Myself from them on that day so they know of My promises to them. I will give you a song to teach them that will condemn them for their turning away from me. Teach them the song and have the law read every seven years so they’ll remember My oath to them.”

Moses wrote the song down and taught it to the people. Then he wrote the laws and gave them to the Levites who carried the Ark of God with the stipulation that they reread it to the elders every seven years during the Feast of Tabernacles. He then prayed they would fulfill God’s desire for this.

###

A change in leadership is always a challenging time. It’s especially difficult when the out-going leader has been strong and popular.

Moses had been the vehicle for so many miracles I’m sure many people associated them with him. That was a main reason God had him step aside at this time. The people needed to see that it wasn’t the man performing the miracles, but God.

Joshua was hand-picked by God to lead the people into battle as they took the land God had promised to Abraham many centuries earlier.

You see, God may not be quick in fulfilling His promises, but, He is sure to perform what He says He will.

Be sincere in you prayer life. Believe God will do what ‘s best. He will in His time.

Growing up I never knew my Grandpa Webster’s full name. I always knew his first name was Ralph. I never found out he had two middle names until I read his obituary. His full name was Ralph Waldo Emerson Webster.

I never met my Great-Grandpa Webster, but, it won’t surprise me to find out that my writing gift is a direct answer to one of his prayers.

You may not live to see the answer to your prayers. Pray them anyway with your whole heart. God is a benevolent Father. You can trust Him.

Joshua’s life was one of preparation for his time. He was chosen as the leader from his tribe as one of the spies to check out the Promised Land and bring back a report to the whole assembly the first time they were perched on the border.

He and Caleb were in the vast minority to say they could take the land from the much larger people in the Land because their God was the One doing the fighting for them. Those two men were the only octogenarians to enter the Land.

Joshua also acted as the general in the skirmishes God’s people faced in their journey on the way. This not only brought him confidence to lead, but, it cemented him as the leader in the people’s minds to take the helm at this time.

It may not be obvious to you what God is developing you for, but, take each assignment you’re given seriously. Your destiny is being shaped by your decisions.

God will use each lesson you’ve learned as groundwork for what He has in store for you.

Your mistakes and failures are all stepping stones to your ultimate destiny.

The bad things that others have done to you are even in God’s design for your life.

God is building your character to go where you’re supposed to be.

Trust Him with your whole heart, because some of your prayers will be answered in your lifetime. Be ready to be a vehicle for change for God’s Kingdom.

God has a plan for each person. He made everyone with a task, or tasks, in mind.

I was 47 when I discovered my writing gift. So, don’t despair. Hang in there.

God isn’t finished with  you until He calls you Home.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Senior Citizens and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

