FAITHFUL DETERMINATION

The man with the second-grayest head of hair approached Joshua after the two-and-a-half tribes east of the Jordan River received their allotment of land.

Joshua smiled wide as he lifted his arms for an embrace. “Caleb, my dear friend, I’ve been expecting you. How are you brother?”

Caleb wrapped his arms around his cohort. The two men slapped each other’s back.

Caleb stepped back and grabbed Joshua’s shoulders. “This day’s been a long time coming, brother.”

Joshua smiled. “You’re right. We should have done this four decades ago.”

Caleb stepped back. “You and I have experienced a lot in our lifetimes. Our backs still carry the scars of the Egyptian whips. We’ve been fed by the LORD’s daily provision, won victories by His power, now we’re heading into the land promised to Abraham. Do you think our clothes will begin to wear out now?”

Joshua laughed. “I haven’t had time to think about that. It wouldn’t surprise me. What can I do for you?”

Caleb stepped back and glanced at the others with him. “I was forty years old when Moses sent us in to spy out the land. I knew then that God would win our battles for us even when the ten said otherwise. Moses promised me that everywhere I walked I would inherit. Here I stand an eighty-five-year-old man. I’m as vigorous as I was back then. I want that hill country where the Anakites live. Those punks don’t stand a chance against our LORD.”

Joshua smiled. “May the LORD have mercy on their souls. I know you’ll conquer them with God on your side. I have a feeling you have your sights set on the strong-hold of Kiriath Arba. What do you plan on renaming it?”

Caleb stuck his chest out. “Hebron.”

Joshua nodded. “May a mighty descendant rise up and make Hebron a great city in Israel.”

###

After Kiriath Arba was conquered Caleb looked across the valley at the city of Kiriath Sepher. “Any man who takes that city will have it and my daughter Acsah for his wife.”

His nephew, Othniel, grabbed the opportunity and seized the city in short order.

As the wedding ceremony was being planned Caleb watched his daughter walking toward him. “What does my prized little girl wish from her father?”

Acsah stood near her dad. “Abba, now that you’ve given me a city we need water for our flocks. Will you give me some springs of water, too?”

Caleb looked into her eyes. “There are upper and lower springs near your new home. Take them both so your flocks will increase as I hope your family will also.”

Othniel smiled as he shook his future father-in-law’s hand. “Thank you very much.”

Caleb sat back down. “So, now that you have your own city what have you decided to name it?”

Othniel and Acsah said in unison. “Debir.”

Caleb nodded. “It’s a good name.”

###

Caleb is one of those Bible people who is easy to miss, yet, hard to forget.

He shows up twice in the Bible. The first time he’s giving the minority report telling Moses and the people that they can conquer the land no matter how big the inhabitants are. He and Joshua are the only two people older than forty at that time allowed into the Promised land.

This account is the second time he shows up. At 85 he’s still ready to let ’em have it. He knows the people in the land are still big, but, his God is even bigger.

It shouldn’t surprise us that Caleb was from the tribe of Judah. This spirit of voracious dependence on God to conquer giants was passed down to one of his descendants.

Do you remember that puny teenager who was pulled from his dad’s sheepfold to slay the giant Goliath? Yeah, now you see the family resemblance between Caleb and David.

Do you remember what city David established before he made Jerusalem the capital? That’s right, Hebron. Those mountain men knew how to pick ’em. Didn’t they?

What giants are standing in your way of accomplishing what God promised you?

Don’t let them intimidate you for one minute. Caleb never did. What was his secret?

Caleb never took his eyes off the source of his strength. God was always the over-riding force he depended on to overcome his giants, as was David’s.

God is still on His throne. He’s just as powerful today as He was back then.

Your giants may not be large people. They’re probably other, more ominous obstacles.

You may have a financial giant breathing down your neck. Perhaps God wants you to let go of your stuff to free you up for something great He has planned for you. That thing you’re holding on to is a weight holding you back from His blessing.

Perhaps a health giant is suffocating the very life out of you. Trust God to know what He’s doing. Your recovery time may be God’s way of getting you to slow down and listen to Him, or, perhaps, listen FOR Him. He does ask us to “Be still and know Him.”

Your giant may be a wayward family member. All of your attempts to reach out and pull them back home have been met with resistance and hostility. Pray for God to break their spirit and will. They may need to reach rock-bottom before they look up to Him.

God promises us that all things will work together to make us more like Jesus (Romans 8:28-29). He doesn’t promise the steps to get us there will be easy. Pain and frustration may be our only companions along that road.

If that road leads us to a closer walk with God each difficult step will be extremely worth it.

Face your giants leaning on God’s power and promises. Keep in mind that we’re not home, yet.

Once we’re home God promises to wipe away every last tear from our eyes.

There’ll be no more pain or sorrow then.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Senior Citizens and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FAITHFUL DETERMINATION

  1. dianegates says:

    Great post, Wade. Makes me stand up straight, focus on the mission, and refuse to retreat in all those issues the church has been silent over far too long.

    DiAne

    • Wade Webster says:

      WOW! I didn’t know I gave that big of a call to action. I’m sure glad I’m not standing in your way, DiAne.
      With Jesus as your source of strength you can conquer many giants. The bigger they are the harder they fall. 😉

  2. icedmocha34 says:

    I have nominated you for the Wonderful Team Membership Award. Congrats! View here: http://icedmocha34.wordpress.com/2014/03/12/wonderful-team-member-readership-award/

Let me know what you think.

