MILESTONES encore

Three years ago today, on this exact date, I began this humble blog. I had no idea where God was going to use this, or what I’d spend my time writing about. I only knew God was leading me to do it. So, I did it…same with my humor blog.

Since there is only one person that I know of whose been with me from the beginning, waving hi to Steve Fischer now, I thought the rest of y’all might like to sample my writing from 3 years ago. So, here in its entirety, typo’s and all, is my very firstest blog post for your perusal. Or, you can just read it if you like. 🙂

###

Life is filled with milestones along the way (or at least it should be).

I have one today that I can’t avoid… God won’t let me. I’ve tried to for the past decade, but, alas it is here. I would like to tell everybody that I’m turning 39 for the twelfth time. I’ve gotten away with it for too long now. There’s a bank on my way to and from work, a ten story building right on I-635 that is displaying a large banner on each side that reads 50 YEARS 1961-2011. I’ve never done business with that bank in the past… and I’m pretty sure I won’t be doing any in the future, either.

I”m not quite sure why it’s such a big deal… all it means is that I’ve orbitted the sun 50 times now. A lot of others have done it before me, and they lived to tell about it. I spent the first part of the day doing 50 sit-ups and 50 push-ups just to say I did it. I’ve done it in the past, but it sounds pretty cool to say I did 50 of each on my 50th (now I guess I can slack off… I don’t plan on attempting 60 on my 60th).

I have a brother who’s been a card carrying AARP member for a bit over a year now. He celebrated his 50th by going golfing. Sounds innocent enough… until you learn that he lives in Michigan… and his birthday is on November 19. The temperature was in the 30’s with a stiff North wind (he almost quit after six holes, but he stuck it out through the front nine).

I decided that if he could take his 50th off to do what he likes to do then I wasn’t about to go to work today. Three years ago I had no clue that I would want to write books for a living. Now, there’s nothing I would rather do with my life. I plan on using this blog to share how God has given me this desire to use it for His glory. By the way, the sun is shining right now and the temperature is in the 70’s with a strong South wind, so why am I doing this indoors?

I have an ulterior motive for this blog. As a new author I keep reading how it is good to do this to build a following by using this social media on the world-wide web. That reminds me… I want to thank my Mom for giving me such a cool name, and a more distant relative, Noah Webster, for putting a silent w on the beginning of the word for putting words on paper. I like the way that worked out for the title of this blog… that way I have a www theme going.

Please, feel free to share this blog address with anybody you think might get something out of it (even if it’s just for a good laugh). I hope fellow Christians will be encouraged by the way God is using me, and that unbelievers will be drawn to Jesus by what they experience. I know coveting is considered a sin, but I really do covet all the prayers I can get as I launch out into the blogosphere (that’s actually what it’s known as, really), and in my other writing attempts. That reminds me… I just sent off both manuscripts of what I have completed to a Christian publisher this morning. I’m excited about the prospect, but I want to have God’s leading in this. I really want to go with who He wants me to go with.

I plan on sending out a new blog once a week (since I still have a day job, and that demands almost 60 hours per week). So, look for new posts every weekend for now. I hope everybody enjoys reading this as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it!

Now, I think I’ll go out and enjoy this fine North Texas weather by going for a run… no, I think I’ll stop quite a bit short of 50 miles.

I’ll see you later. Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MILESTONES encore

  1. May the Lord continue to bless with His might, His mercy, and His love. Stay faithful to the call…that is all a brother can do. May you stay closer than close to Him so that you hear clearly…perhaps only day to day…the path that “call” is for your life. Thank you Wade for helping me to look forward to Saturday and Monday mornings

    Love in Christ

  2. Wade Webster says:

    Thanks, Steve.
    You know better than anybody how difficult this road I travel has been.
    Don’t worry about me stopping any time soon. As a matter of fact look for a shift to the next higher gear in the near future, y’all.
    I’ll keep writing them you keep reading them.

  3. dianegates says:

    Three years, huh? You’ve got me by a year, Wade. I love the way you write, personal and conversational. Your writing skills have sharpened over the years as have mine. Amazing what hours of practice in front of the computer will do. Bless you for keeping on keeping. ‘Til He comes.

    DiAne

Let me know what you think.

