A DISTANT ECHO

Eli tried to stand, but, couldn’t. “Samuel, come here I need you.”

Samuel raced over to his mentor. “Here I am.”

Eli stretched his left hand forward. “Would you please help me up. It gets harder for me every day.”

Samuel braced his feet as he wrapped both hands around the elder’s forearm. “Ready?”

Samuel leaned back as Eli’s weight shifted forward.

The 98-year-old man placed his hand on Samuel’s shoulder to balance himself. “Thank you, my son. Now, will you help me into bed? I’m feeling quite tired.”

Samuel shifted his position to accommodate the bulk of Eli. “Sure thing. Let’s go.”

Once Eli was lying down he groped for Samuel’s hand. “Thank you, my son. You have been a true gift from the LORD. I don’t deserve to have one as caring as you.”

Samuel pulled the blanket over Eli. “I’ve been dedicated to the LORD to serve you, sir.”

Eli relaxed and let out a long sigh.

###

Eli shook awake when his door burst open. The sound of Samuel’s voice comforted him.

“Here I am, sir. You called for me.”

Eli lifted his head, then, set it back down. “No, Samuel, I didn’t call for you. Go back to bed.”

Eli drifted back to sleep only to have the scene repeated.

“Here I am. You called me.”

Eli rolled to his side. “No, my son, I did not call you. I was sleeping. Go back to sleep.”

Eli almost fell out of bed the next time Samuel burst into his room.

“Here I am. I know you called for me. I heard my name.”

Eli rolled on his back and let out a long breath, then, his eyes opened wide. “Forgive me, LORD. You never spoke to me.”

He held a hand out to Samuel. Samuel took his hand. “The next time you hear your name called say, ‘here I am. Speak, Lord. Your servant is listening.'”

###

In the morning Eli noticed Samuel was conspicuously absent. He listened for movement in the tabernacle, but, heard nothing. “Samuel, where are you?”

Approaching footsteps were followed by a familiar voice. “Here I am, sir.”

Eli placed his hands on Samuel’s shoulders. “Tell me what He said. Don’t hold anything back.”

Samuel led the old man to a chair. “You better sit down, first, sir.”

Eli sat down. “May the LORD deal with you severely if you hold anything back from me, Samuel.”

Samuel let out a long breath. “God is about to carry out His judgement on your sons and you because you never restrained them from making themselves contemptible in the Lord’s house. No amount of sacrifice will cover what has happened here with your family. They and you will die on the same day.”

Eli looked up. “He is the LORD. He will do what is right in His eyes.”

###

Galatians 6:7 Do not be deceived. God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows.

Eli’s life choices were about to catch up to him. Samuel was informed about it. He told the old man so Eli knew it was a judgement from God.

What I don’t understand is why God took so long to dole out His judgement here. Eli’s two sons had made a mockery of what God intended His house of worship to be.

Apparently they thought that since they were born as priests they could get away with doing whatever they wanted. God did not withstand that type of contempt for His laws.

The last half of 1 Samuel 2:25 is quite a harsh statement about the situation. It says God wanted to kill Eli’s sons. That may not be the type of god you want to serve, but, that’s the God of the Bible. So, He’s the only real choice you have.

You see, God is a long-suffering, patient deity. He’ll put up with wrong-doing for quite some time so the sinners have ample opportunity to come around to see the error of their ways and turn to Him for repentance.

BUT, His patience does have an end to it.

It makes total sense to me that God would punish people for doing wrong and reward people for doing right. That way everyone would see the benefits of living a good life.

There are villages in Asia that have no girls living in them. Everyone of them have been sold into the sex slave industry because the families are so poor. Why doesn’t God put a stop to that?

Jesus told us in Matthew 24:37 that the end days will be like the days of Noah. Those days saw so much evil being committed that God wanted to wipe out all of mankind. Noah was the only man following God. That’s why his family survived that time of judgement.

I fear to see how much worse things are going to get before the final judgement of God takes place. Once God’s believers are raptured out of here things will get exponentially worse.

Let’s do our best to reach as many people with the truth of God as we can. Let’s offend some people by stating what the Bible actually says instead of trying to not offend a sector of society so they’ll come to church and feel good about their wrong choices.

God is not pleased with lukewarm followers.

Let’s send business-minded missionaries to those villages in Asia so they can have a way of surviving that allows those families to keep their dignity and their daughters.

Let’s guide our young men into seeing their responsibilities as fathers so they raise up the next generation to do likewise.

We can still make a difference here. We have the truth everyone is starving and thirsting for. Let’s stop hoarding it all to ourselves.

Let’s get out of our comfort zones and allow hurting people in our sanctuaries we call churches and show the love of Jesus like Jesus did.

Our churches need to be hospitals for the hurting, not clubhouses for the clean.

I’ll see you later.   Wade

About Wade Webster

I'm a full-time truck driver who's been called to write. As I grow in my writing I pray you grow in your walk with Christ. My life verse is John 3:30: (it's where John the Baptist is talking to his disciples about Jesus) "Jesus must increase, I must decrease." I hope that comes through in my writing. Look for a new post every weekend. Feel free to offer suggestions for topics you would like to see me cover. For a taste of my lighter side visit my humor blog http://www.laughoutloudloveourlord.com
This entry was posted in Devotional, Senior Citizens and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think.

